Snakes We Know and Love

7 SNAKE – Q OF CLUBS

Snake_DreamingWayLenormand

Some always think of snakes as bad things, and in this case I mistook the snake on the Dreaming Way Lenormand for a venomous Coral Snake when it is actually a Milk Snake, probably the New Mexico Milk Snake Lampropeltis triangulum celaenops which is similar to the Lampropeltis triangulum snake on my Milk Snake card but having whiter stripes.

A pithy rhyme to tell the good from the bad in these similar red snakes.

Red Touch Yellow – Kills a Fellow
Red Touch Black – Venom Lack
Yellow Touches Red – Soon You’ll Be Dead
Red Touches Black – Friend of Jack

The dorsal scales are so smooth that they feel like enamel and the Latin Lampropeltis means “shining skin shield” to reflect that, and celaenops comes from the Greek, kelainops, which means “dark-faced”. I saw one person online saying that all coral snakes have black faces which is not true. The identification of the snake highlights the ambiguity of this card in general.

Is the person the real threat or is it the snake? Is it a poisonous snake or a harmless snake: appearances can be deceiving.

I drew this card yesterday and it reminds me of the contractor who visited to advise us on our fireplace tile. He obviously did not want to do it or help us, after being so friendly on the phone, that I felt very disappointed and obsessed about it until 1 a.m. when I realized that my entire back had locked up in muscle spasms. I was trying and trying to figure out a way to do this or to paint and stencil the tiles or something to get what I want.

After tapping on the situation three times, I was able to let it go. (Thanks Chloe for the nudge on tapping.)

But my tension and obsession with getting what I wanted was all out of proportion, like the snake in the card wrapping the girl tightly, her own mind strangling her since it is a harmless milk snake.

Wise up girlie!

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Lenormand Oracle

Tags: , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

9 Comments on “Snakes We Know and Love”


  1. So glad the tapping is helping with such things, Judy! And I love your insight into the snake – poisonous or not is such a great way of perceiving that sometimes the snake is harmless, and we just fear it out of habit.

    • JJ Says:

      I find sometimes when looking things up, particularly with animals and plants, that there is often a tie-in that works, whether the author/artist intended it or not. One of the best resons for coming up with your own insights, right?

  2. Beverly King Says:

    We have a scarlet king snake here that looks much like this milk snake. Which has give rise to: Red on black, scratch its back; red on yellow, kill a fellow.
    Arghh… I hate to have creative plans that I’m excited about that get dashed against the rocks. Hope you can’t come up with something else that lights your fire. 🙂

    • JJ Says:

      Oh boy, lights my fire! Good one Bev. I saw the King Snake online when I was searching for similar colour patterns to the snake on the card. So many red snakes–who would have thought?

  3. Beverly King Says:

    Sigh… I really do need some coffee this morning. Above should read: “given rise to” and “Hope you can come up” (my apologies).
    😀

    • JJ Says:

      No problem, you should see the typos I make since I used a laptop keyboard and now this Apple keyboard. I’m glad you commented anyway Bev!


  4. What an interesting post about snake meaning. I always struggle a little bit with snake symbolism. It really is one of those symbols that could go a number of ways. Hope your fireplace situation gets sorted out ASAP. 🙂 Hugs…Hannah/MM


Leave a Reply

