Hey Kids, Look at That Card Up Close!

I keep forgetting capitalization rules in titles. Is “that” supposed to be capitalized or not, or “at”? I used to have a bookmark for this.

‘”At” is a preposition so is not capitalized. Unless it is the first or last word of course. “That” is a subordinating conjunction so it is capitalized.  I had to look it up because I must be perfect. I also know I will forget this. I had no idea there was such a thing as a subordinating conjunction.

I was never taught grammar in school. Can you believe that, thirteen years of education plus a few college courses and I had to find out the basics on my own and even then it gets confusing. I often see that people who are good at languages know grammar well. I bought a book once about English grammar for students of Latin. When I was trying to learn Latin I used to get so confused because I’d mix up the grammar.

“Conjunction junction what’s your function, picking up words and phrases and clauses.”

A nod to Bob Dorough who wrote this song for Schoolhouse Rock on TV, and Jack Sheldon who sang it so well I’ve always remembered it.

No card just yet today because I am trying to work up an Okanagan Oracle colour montage in Pixelmator. This will be the ultimate test of functionality because I do a lot of card montages with added text.

I have another jigsaw to share though. Everybody groans, BUT the detail of the rather small artwork in the 72 Names Cards is amazing when seen on a 21.5-inch screen. You can’t see it here because it’s not full size, but seeing cards up close is very meaningful if you find a card puzzling. The easiest way to see it is to scan it in and let the computer light it from behind.

72NamesCardsJig

Happy Sunday!

 

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Miscellaneous Cards

Tags: , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

