Pagan Otherworlds Favourites

It might just be me, but I was as thrilled with the postcard that came with the Pagan Otherworlds Tarot as I was with the deck. I wish more deck creators realized how neat it is to get a postcard. I have one from the Tarot of the Absurd which I love, and a couple of postcards from Nakisha VanderHoeven that I got with three of her decks.

PaganPostcard

I have decided that the IX of Swords and the Wheel of Fortune are my two favourite cards in the deck.

PaganFaves

I unfortunately could not afford the book that comes with this deck, but the Wheel shows a bear, lion and white stag or hart. The lion reminds me of Aslan from the Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis, and the portal-like quality of the stone arch appeals to me as does the patterning on the wheel. “Farther up and farther in” like The Last Battle and the portal in that book.

The swan has a shackle on its neck which is anchored in the water. I usually call this card the “daggers of the mind” card and here it is the “shackles of the mind” weighing the swan down, keeping him in place, unable to move. It is such an image of my current state, and yet perhaps we only assume the chain is anchored? Feel all that rippling muscle and energy, tethered.

This is a quiet deck, but I rather like the quietness of it.

 

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Tarot - General

Tags: , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

