Digital Continuity in the Otherworlds

While examining these cards with a magnifying glass I realized that the whitish blue backgrounds were all the same. Then I noticed that the wands had been copied between cards, sometimes tweaked a bit by taking off branches or adding leaves. Altered wands from one card show up as a staff in another. One cup was painted and then copied to make several cups, sometimes flipped horizontally to provide interest. Swords were done similarly with sizes going up or down depending on the composition. Butterflies from one card show up on another. While these cards were hand painted, it became obvious that they were assembled digitally, with elements copied to provide continuity.

From the description, I had assumed that each card had been hand painted as a stand-alone painting which is not totally the case. The collage is beautifully and expertly done, and it does provide continuity, but is disappointing given what I expected.

KNIGHT OF SWORDS

KnightSwordsPagan

Mr. Harum-Scarum my buddy. He often comes up for me. I must watch that I don’t go off rapidly, travelling to realms I never meant to go to.

He says “Hey, you birds! Didn’t I just see you over there???!!!” Roll with it Mr. H-S, roll with it.

He yells “Happy Sunday!” and dashes off toward the horizon.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Tarot - General

Tags: ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on “Digital Continuity in the Otherworlds”

  1. Beverly King Says:

    You have an excellent eye to catch the reuse of some of the same items! This knight reminds me of myself when I get on my “high horse” about something. Always ready to slice the head off of what I deem the problem (and usually later discover it is myself!).
    I still feel torn about this deck; on one hand there is something cold and aloof about it, but I do love all the flora and fauna in these cards!

    • JJ Says:

      Yes, which is why I hesitated to post my observations about the partly digital pastiches on the cards, lest I be taken as being on my high horse. I do have an excellent eye and visual memory, I am often told that when I spot similarities in cards across decks. It’s one of the pleasures I take in my deck collection and rambling posts on such things.

      EVERY deck has post-production digital work, it’s normal to see digital work these days. This deck obviously has enormous work and effort in it both by hand in the oil paintings and titling and digitally. One of the reasons it looks cold apart from the colour is the sameness of elements on the same background which causes a flat look which is beautiful in its way.

      Had I known that much of it is collaged digitally would I have bought it for $90 CAD? No. Would I buy a deck from Uusi again? No.

      But it’s here, I’m going to work with it and I do enjoy the painting and natural elements, flora and fauna, gorgeous.

  2. raggedpoet Says:

    Love this observation, and I love the deck, I missed out on the postcard as it was a gift, but it is stunning..! Where has the year gone? Will have to catch up… 🙂

    • JJ Says:

      I remember when I first told you I had it on my wish list you didn’t like it, but in the hand the cards feel good. I think you noticed this when you received it, it was your posts on Instagram that decided my purchase, I thought I’d dithered around enough about it.

      It’s one of those unexpected types of deck which you can enjoy fiddling about with.


  3. Having done some digital remastering myself, I can honestly say it is as much work and as detailed as painting by hand. So, that wouldn’t put me off a deck, nor make me willing to pay less for it. There is something lovely about continuity, especially if it takes a magnifying glass to spot its digitality (if that’s even a word) 😀 My tuppence-worth 😉

    • JJ Says:

      My own Lenormand deck was all done on the computer. It’s not the computer work I object to, which took time (as I know from direct experience with computers) and is well done, it’s the way their marketing bafflegab overrode the fact that elements had been cut and pasted repeatedly, and the montages put together digitally using the same elements across cards.

      Perhaps I am naive to expect a deck advertised as a hand painted deck to be FULLY hand painted. I could have spotted it online without a magnifying glass, and indeed it’s apparent now that I know, but I hadn’t expected it to be anything else so didn’t look closely.

      I feel stupid for not noticing. “My bad” as they say for following the crowd. I would not buy from Uusi again. It is my prerogative as a purchaser to say how a deck comes across to me, and back it up by not purchasing further from a company.


Comments are closed.


