Okanagan Oracle Colour Study 9: Equality

The rainbow spills down the page – I had a hard time stopping myself from finding cards but I ran out of room.

EQUALITY – Okanagan Oracle – this is a painted crosswalk in Kelowna, BC with rainbow stripes in support of LGBTQ people.
HULA AND LEI – Island Heritage Postcards; art by Frank McIntosh circa 1930s.
3 – CELEBRATION – 3 of Cups – Bright Idea Deck
60 – LAUGHTER – Osho Transformation Tarot
7 0F WANDS – VALOUR – Parrott Tarot
FIRE – 9 INTEGRITY – 9 of Wands – Mythical Goddess Tarot
KING OF FIRE – PATH – King of Wands – Infinite Tarot
I THE MAGICIAN – Whimsical Tarot
DISNEY LAND – Richard Lindner 1965. Oil on canvas; Dover postcard

OkanaganColour8_2

The wholeness of The Magician, with words like path, integrity, celebration, valour, laughter, equality, and some welcoming leis from Hawaii, the Disney world of being different in a society that does not encourage difference.

We had a temporary rainbow crosswalk in town that was not allowed to become permanent. There was the son of friends of my parents who was transgender and eventually took the plunge into surgery and the medications that killed him far sooner than necessary, as his body became sick, but he wanted to be himself, the woman he had always felt like.

What must it feel like to constantly hide or not feel like yourself when you look in a mirror? What must it be like to search for trusted friendship and love, to have people hurl insults at you on the street, to long for children and be vilified as a parent?

Way back in the 1970s during my Pentecostal phase, I was at a bowling alley with a fundamentalist Christian woman who, looking at a man dressed in women’s clothes standing about seeking a new friend, screwed up her face and said “That is so sad” and kept staring at him with her face locked in a grimace. What was sad was his desperation, his courage to let everyone know he was different, and then to face such comments repeatedly. I can still see him standing there, alone in the light, in his dress, high heels and inexpert make-up, so lonely, hoping someone would speak to him. Jesus would have bought him a coffee and had a chat, I’m quite sure.

I couldn’t do it, be out there. I would be a hider, afraid, avoiding. In reading online about the four crosswalks in Kelowna that are painted, some comments were left about the Bible and homosexuals, and taxpayers money funding such atrocities. I think it’s pretty and highlights the intersections well, but think to yourself, what must it be like to see this paint and feel some support in a terribly cruel world, to have someone notice you in a happy way for a change?

What does it feel like to be the other person?

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Okanagan Oracle Colour Studies

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

7 Comments on “Okanagan Oracle Colour Study 9: Equality”

  1. mooninfog Says:

    Thanks for this.
    About ten years ago there was a fad among fundamentalist and evangelical Christians to ask “What Would Jesus Do?”(WWJD? was the bumper sticker abbreviation). That seems to have disappeared in the US. I think I know why.

    • JJ Says:

      Oh yeah, I forgot about the WWJD thing. Obviously so have the bumper sticker people; they’ve switched to ill-informed Twitter rants.

      “You’re not the boss of me” has become “I have the right to free speech, even if I have to kill people for someone to hear me speak.”

  2. Beverly King Says:

    Regarding Mooninfog’s remark about WWJD, perhaps some people actually read and realized what a social reformer Jesus was (instead of listening their pastor’s version). 😀
    My daughter is gay, and so I feel often a sense of desperation in wanting acceptance and kindness for her. There have been times I was tempted to kill someone with my bare hands after listening or witnessing to their hatred and cruelty. But then I remembered that being in jail won’t help the LGBT cause at all.
    We’ve had quite a few rainy, grey days here, so I enjoyed these bright cards!


  3. In some other societies, there have been more accepting ways for people to be different. An acknowledgement that difference and diversity have value, rather than just being a cause for fear and vilification.
    And your beautiful colour palette reminds me that sometimes the shoe is on the other foot. I remember going to a club, and a trannie looking at my boring, low-heeled shoes in disgust, as s/he strutted hir stuff in outrageous heels. S/he definitely fitted in better than I did 😀


Leave a Reply

