The Coppiced Face

I got my Red Wine Playing Cards into the database today, and I have now hit 400 decks. It’s official, I’ve crossed over the line into new territory. I’m still enjoying them all too, rummaging around during bouts of insomnia, looking at all the bright, creative images, and wondering how I gathered so many in 15.5 years.

Art dahlings, it’s all about art.

HAZEL (Corylus avellana)
Control

Hazel_Control

Sometimes we see the common hazel in North America because it came with settlers, but it’s not native. Hazels are coppiced, much like willows are in North America, and the young branches are used to make fencing. I’ve seen this on television where the supple hazel branches are horizontally woven in and out of poles to make impenetrable fences.

I suppose that’s where the idea of control comes from with this plant. Lisa mentions how our attachment to how things “should” be often stifles flow because we are trying to control everything. The yellow catkins on hazels appear before the fruit; I can see the analogy of a human needing to flower before the delicious fruit is formed, and hazelnuts ARE delicious.  You can’t flower if you’re trying to control everything that happens.

Just a secondary thought: the face in this card looks a bit broody and menacing, much like a person building a fence around themselves. I’ve been in a fence-building phase for some years, perhaps a nod to change?

 

About JJ

Eccentric erminois dweller.
This entry was posted in Oracles - General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Coppiced Face

  1. Beverly King says:

    I think there is a native plant called American Hazelnut (more shrub than tree) – Corylus americana. Used as a hedge or fence, there does seem to be an emphasis on boundaries and control. Hope you find some friends beyond yours that you can socialize a bit with. Congrats on the 400! You’re one of the few people who have such a large collection but actually play around with them. 😀

    • JJ says:

      Actually Bev, I don’t have friends beyond the Internet and the spouse. Someone told me about 17 years ago that I should look for friends in the real world, and I tried, but so far it’s been uncomfortable–trust issues I expect. I am just so used to puttering away alone.

      Huh, isn’t that funny that people collect decks and then don’t use them? For me, they are like old friends, like books, and the artwork is a happy thing, good for revisiting and messing about with, very inspiring and uplifting.

  2. They do that kind of fencing on our local heath, horizontally weaving branches. I love it, it looks so much more natural than a metal fence, or concrete posts with boards 🙂 Appropriate boundaries are good to have, but that involves a door to the outside, too 😉

    • JJ says:

      The first time I saw this fencing was on one of the British shows, either Victorian Farm or Tudor Monastery Farm.

      Over here they do wooden fencing slightly differently (of course, why would it be the same), but I admit to liking the old way better and it looks much sturdier with less gaps.

      Ah, a door in the fence what a concept.

Leave a Reply

