Of Duvet Covers and Blackthorn

After scanning and entering four new decks into my database, I thought I’d play around with these. I laid the cards out in seven rows and dealt them; I don’t riffle shuffle large decks like this and prefer putting them in piles and doing a small mediation as I do so. Wouldn’t you know, I drew the same card as last time.

BLACKTHORN – SURVIVAL INSTINCTS

Blackthorn2

I didn’t realize that these trees look so similar to a hawthorn tree. I wonder…we had a tree that self-seeded on our old property and I thought it was a hawthorn but it wasn’t. I wonder if it was a blackthorn though? The birds ate fruit and their droppings planted the tree, and the tree grew like mad. That tenacity reminds me of the title on this card.

I saw some lovely postage stamps of hawthorns online so I included a sample in this montage along with a botanical illustration.

Yesterday I was looking at duvet covers at Wayfair, and they had a lot of bright covers with splashy botanicals like this. I was thinking that I need something bright and modern to take away the frumpiness of my bed. Miss Blackthorn agrees with me I think, given the similarities between her card colours and the duvet colours.

We favour these two:

DuvetCoversFaves

“Which one?” she says to me. Juggling the sword of decision, she disparages my lack of resolve in making a decision.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Oracles - General

Tags: , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

