Database in the Wilds of Woldman

I have two card decks by artist Susan Woldman, the Contemplation Cards and the Relationship Cards. She also created two other decks, the Yoga Path Cards, and the Ask Me! Cards, which are done in the same style; all of them are out-of-print. She also co-wrote and illustrated a book: The Promise Effect: How to Create a Life That Wasn’t Going to Happen Anyway that is still in-print.

“Susan Woldman is a multi media artist from New York city, finding expression through illustration, writing, painting, sculpting, woodworking and ceramics. After exhibiting her art widely, Susan discovered her passion for combining visual images with the written word. Her card decks are a product of this discovery.”

Upon looking her up online, I see she has changed her focus from exuberantly coloured art and card decks to subdued abstracts in acrylic that are just fascinating. Here are some recent works from her website:
http://www.susanwoldman.com/susan-woldman-artist/

I see her mention that she also makes jewellery. I tend to like artists who work across various disciplines because I do too. There is always something new to learn and try when you’re creative. It’s quite striking how different her art of today is from when she made the four decks. Can you see going from all those bright colours to the quietude of depth in almost monotonal abstracts in a large 48-inch square size? How interesting to discover variations in tone and texture after working in wild colour. Man, I find artists interesting.

Here are the deck boxes together.

relationship-contemplation

CONTEMPLATION CARDS

contemplationback

A sample of four cards I like from the deck. This is not my favourite deck for some reason. I find it a bit same-y with the bras/tops of the women all having clouds and sky on them. It also has a focus on women in the artwork, I prefer more balanced images between genders. I didn’t find the words inspiring, but it’s a colourful deck for a card-a-day contemplation.

contemplationcardssample

RELATIONSHIP CARDS

relationshipback

I liked these much better although details and decorative accents are much the same as in the other deck. The gender balance is here thank goodness. Yes Goddess worshippers, there ARE men in the world. I found the details in this deck more appealing, a little more specific and thus relatable to real life.

relationshipcardssample

I find in decks where there are portraits that I don’t get as much out of them as when cards have details and objects in them. If you see a face and maybe some clothing, there it is, whereas with some scenery or objects, with more defined settings, I can pull more meaning to a card from my mind, meander around creating a story, or simply just enjoy the scene better.

I rarely use these cards but the idea of working with them as the impetus for artwork is appealing, perhaps with colour as a theme or checkerboard patterns or faces. I often want to do that with decks like this but my arm hurts lately so I’m finding it hard to draw when in pain.

I like Susan’s quirky portraiture, but I find these cards a bit simplistic, not much to grow the mind on, but their exuberance is charming and she spent some time creating them which is appealing. She is obviously an artist who gets things completed and has many ideas and just might have interesting things to say in the book she co-wrote.

Explore posts in the same categories: Miscellaneous Cards

Tags: , , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

6 Comments on “Database in the Wilds of Woldman”

  1. Beverly King Says:

    Wow, those recent paintings are radically different from these cards! I wonder what she would create now if she did another deck.

    • JJ Says:

      It’s amazing how different the recent work is. I’d love to ask her what changed that she went in this direction. It would be fascinating to see a deck with abstracts.


  2. It’s funny, her new work is also samey, though in a totally different way! The lines and light are very similar across the whole oeuvre for 2017. I quite like the colourful decks, though I see what you mean about them being simplistic. Still, it’s lovely to dig into decks from the past – I do enjoy your database posts 🙂

    • JJ Says:

      Yes, I like a good dig, it’s almost as good as a card comparison.

      I like the database posts too. I let them go for a while during our move, but I like to talk about decks so if I remember I do one. I am now keeping a list of the ones I’ve done so I don’t repeat. Amazingly, starting from December 8, 2014, I have done 32 of these. I could be at it for a 100 years!


  3. You are right about them being simplistic – but they are lovely to look at. What a fascinating look back!
    http://cosmicpositivity.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

