That Chipper Bower Bird

This Seven of Pentacles is one of my favourite cards from the Linestrider Tarot.

SEVEN OF PENTACLES
FIVE OF PENTACLES

7_5pents

I was thinking about my sketchbook and how I haven’t been working in it although I have a terrific idea I want to execute, so I drew these two cards in a query about what I should do.

The Seven is about hard work and waiting for fruition. It reminds me of something I saw in a book by Andrew Matthews about waiting for water to boil and thinking that nothing is going on when in actual fact there is, and in an instant the water starts bubbling and boiling even though you were watching it and it was not moving at all. It’s a long-term thing, it doesn’t happen overnight.

Then I see the Five card as a complication of injury, a loss of belief in myself and confidence, and maybe yet another nod to future ill health if I don’t do something now. Maybe all the physical stuff is coming to an end and I can work hard again?

I think when I am in pain I do get disheartened and certainly lose confidence, but the cheery bower bird plugs away, chipping away, adding just the right flowers and decoration.

Explore posts in the same categories: Tarot - General

Tags: , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

2 Comments on “That Chipper Bower Bird”

  1. Beverly King Says:

    Her eyes seem so hollow, which is an apt way of illustrating the Five of Pents. Illness, especially when accompanied by pain, can put a damper on what normally brings us joy. These two cards make perfect sense, considering your situation. Hope you feel up to sketching and painting again soon!

    • JJ Says:

      It’s a great treatment for this card, I’m very impressed with this deck, I’ll keep it out and use it a bit.

      I hope I feel better too, I am just so tired all the time.


Leave a Reply

