Awareness, By Gum

I went to a new dentist but it set up a chain of pain, so I’ve been pretty sick.

However, while organizing my last two sketches for my old sketchbook project, I decided I needed a proper set of gouache paints. I’ve been limping along with the extremely cheap and chalky Reeves set, which is about 15 to 20 years old, so for Christmas I ordered a Winsor & Newton set of 10 gouache tubes and ordered one extra tube of titanium white, which is a little different than the zinc white that comes in the set and I need them both.

wn_gouache10set_sm

BLUE GUM FLOWER – (Eucalyptus globulus) Healing
AWARENESS

bluegum
I am mixing the Australian Wildflower Reading Cards with the old but charming Nature Spirits Oracle Cards.

Acceptance for what has gone before , and a time to move forward, not getting bogged down in details. Look at other ways to heal and be healthy and look after yourself.

Awareness is always a struggle I find. Mention is made of paying attention to details but the Blue Gum says not to get bogged down in them. Be more focused and attentive, observe, it’s a good time to make changes.

Art is a healing thing, sometimes it’s good to get away and draw.

When we were in the dollar store this week they had this at the checkout counter, so I bought it for $2 to set on my drafting board while I work.

hoperock
Explore posts in the same categories: Oracles - General

Tags: , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

4 Comments on “Awareness, By Gum”

  1. Beverly King Says:

    I’m curious, what is the difference between the zinc white and the titanium white?
    There is a quote by Dr. Paul Ohliger in 12 Step literature that reads:
    “And acceptance is the answer to all my problems today. When I am disturbed, it is because I find some person, place, thing or situation — some fact of my life — unacceptable to me, and I can find no serenity until I accept that person, place, thing or situation as being exactly the way it is supposed to be at this moment. …unless I accept life completely on life’s terms, I cannot be happy. I need to concentrate not so much on what needs to be changed in the world as on what needs to be changed in me and in my attitudes.”
    If only doing it were as easy as reading it!
    I love those Australian Wildflower cards.

    • JJ Says:

      Really, you are so ahead of the game by practicing this, or at least knowing it Bev! I’ve understood it for a couple of years and know it works, and sometimes I do it and other times the old buttons get pushed.

      This is what I could figure out from online comments about both whites: Zinc White is slightly more transparent and mixes better with other colours, whereas Permanent White or Titanium White is more opaque and works best on its own for highlights or if you’re painting something on coloured paper.

      And doesn’t that open the slippery slope of more art supplies. Ha-ha!!! I was going to use a white conté pencil for highlights but I can’t find it–might still be in one of my three unpacked boxes. So then I thought I’d limp along with the Reeves, but I’m almost out of the white, so then….

      AND, I might buy a sheet of Indigo Canson Mi-Teintes paper. Indigo paper, white gouache, the imagination soars. If only my arm would heal up.

      I actually prefer her similar Flower Reading Cards, just because she has landmarks or buildings cut into the background–gives it an extra layer of meaning, you know?

      • Beverly King Says:

        Didn’t realize she had another set; I like the buildings in the background too. Maybe there will be a mass market version I can afford soon. 🙂

        • JJ Says:

          My two sets ARE the mass market publications by Rockpool Publishing.

          They are available at amazon..com Bev and the Flower Reading Cards are $12.66 and the Australian Flower Reading Cards are $22.95 USD.

          No reason you can’t afford the Flower Reading Cards. ;-))))


Leave a Reply

