The Capybara Who Wanted To Sing

FIVE OF CUPS

FiveCups_AnTotem

These two capybaras were fond of jazz and had a brilliant idea for adapting the song The Happy Wanderer as a jazz tune and contacting Brad Mehldau to play the piano background for them while they sang their duet. It would have been good, these two were really in tune, but the chap in the water found his friend dead one day on the shore.

It wasn’t the loss of the music, although that hurt deeply, it was the loss of his friend, his companion, the one friend who understood his ideas and augmented them, the only Other whom he could sing with.

He thought he would never sing again, never feel that special creativity rising from within, but as he slipped in the water and felt its coolness slip around him, smoothing his fur and washing his grief, he realized that he could find opportunity again, he could feel where he would go even amid the grief. He knew Brad would understand and they would create the most beautiful rendition of the song that had ever been heard, and maybe Kurt Elling would sing the vocal with him.

He laughed and waved to a bird in the sky, as he caused ripples in the water with his movement.

THE HAPPY WANDERER

I love to go a-wandering,
Along the mountain track,
And as I go, I love to sing,
My knapsack on my back.

Chorus:
Val-deri,Val-dera,
Val-deri,
Val-dera-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha
Val-deri,Val-dera.
My knapsack on my back.

I love to wander by the stream
That dances in the sun,
So joyously it calls to me,
“Come! Join my happy song!”

I wave my hat to all I meet,
And they wave back to me,
And blackbirds call so loud and sweet
From ev’ry green wood tree.

High overhead, the skylarks wing,
They never rest at home
But just like me, they love to sing,
As o’er the world we roam.

Oh, may I go a-wandering
Until the day I die!
Oh, may I always laugh and sing,
Beneath God’s clear blue sky!

Explore posts in the same categories: Tarot - General

Tags: , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

4 Comments on “The Capybara Who Wanted To Sing”


  1. It is a pretty harsh version of this card, but then how to express emotion in the face of a capybara…

    • JJ Says:

      It was a surprise to see the blood on the capybara–it did seem a tad harsh.

      It looks peaceful though and will be glad when its friend hooks up with Brad and Kurt. They’re going to have a number 1 hit with The Happy Wanderer as a jazz tune.

  2. Bobby Besley Says:

    We used to sing this as kids… can’t remember where it came from now… maybe a pantomime of Snow White… oh for those days! I love the Animal Totem deck…

    • JJ Says:

      We used to sing it at school and in Girl Guides. I remember a snowy day in January when i had to walk to work for 2 kms, and to keep myself going I sang this all the way.

      This Animal Totem deck is one of the better ones that has come out. Just lovely work.


Leave a Reply

