Get off the Seesaw and Go in Circles

TWO OF PENTACLES

TwoPents_Linestrider

Doesn’t this guy look a bit like Daniel Day-Lewis in the Gangs of New York movie? Or maybe a bit like Waldorf Astor or Charles Dickens or the painter Van Dyke?

He’s a showy type, juggling for the crowds. I’ve been a bit frazzled so came to the conclusion that I’d been juggling too many balls in the air for too long. I have thus been reading and having afternoon naps but not much else. The gentle art of balance comes to mind, of keeping composure.

She has a notation in the book about the reversed aspect of this which impressed me. Are you feeling crushed by the feeling of having to stay on top of everything, and the doubt that you can? Well, maybe you don’t have to—neglecting parts of your life is not a good thing.

So this idea of balancing by neglecting one part and being uber-attentive to another, and then rushing back to the first part and concentrating on it for a while and then scrabbling back the other way is NOT the way to go. You need to encompass the whole, give equal attention to things during the day. A more practical routine of attention makes sense while juggling in life.

This guy seems to find it doable.

About JJ

Eccentric erminois dweller.
This entry was posted in Tarot - General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Get off the Seesaw and Go in Circles

  1. Beverly King says:

    I was just talking to some ladies last night about how I can get fixated on something and forget to take care of other parts of my life. Reminds me of Rumer Godden’s quote: “Everyone is a house with four rooms, a physical, a mental, an emotional and a spiritual. Most of us tend to live in one room most of the time but, unless we go into every room every day, even if only to keep it aired, we are not a complete person.”

    • JJ says:

      That is IT–we have to go into every room, every day. What a great quote.

      I liked Rumer Godden’s books when I was young. They were often difficult, because she wrote about the good and bad sides of people, the cruelty and thoughtlessness was hard to bear in her books. True to life though, very much the reality of the human condition.

  2. tarottiferet says:

    Love the idea of the rooms! I will have to pass that on to a friend who spends most of her time in the spiritual and emotional.

    And yes, very Day Lewis. I adored him in my youth. Had pictures on my wall and watched all his movies (though haven’t seen any recent ones). I loved My Left Foot and In The Name of The Father.

    • JJ says:

      I never saw the movie My Left Foot, but I used to see Christy Brown on television chat shows when he first became well-known, back in the 1970s.

      • tarottiferet says:

        It’s such a wonderful and touching film. Great cast. We watched it a while back as Daz hadn’t seen it. Daniel Day Lewis and Brenda Fricker both got Oscars, deservedly.

Leave a Reply

