Count on It

COUNT STAFFS (King of Wands)

CountStaffs_Byzantine

This is Saint Kosmas of Maiuma, a bishop who wrote poetry, sacred hymns and defended imagery of the Church against iconoclasts, who were hell bent (pun!) on destroying all the lovely statues, frescoes, and mosaics in churches.

He reminds me a bit of Hildegard von Bingen, who also wrote and painted, and was a poet and creator of music, and proponent of the spiritual life and art.

Like all Kings, this chap can be a bit of a controlling, critical presence, but I see him today as someone who reasons, yet has a creative, spiritual side. A reminder of balance and dignity. I haven’t been too dignified in the last two days, I’ve been sore and stroppy with the spouse, and generally not my cheery self. Today I must read and write in my journals with my marvelous fountain pens and ink I brought with me, and have dignity and order surrounding me.

I hope to finish the tarot bag I have been hand sewing for this deck tomorrow or later today. It always takes longer to hand sew things, and I’ve done some extra backstitching for reinforcement of seams in both the lining and main fabric, as the deck is quite large. The bag fits though, and I boxed the corners so it has a more tailored look to it and won’t have oodles of fabric spilling out the sides when I put it in its box.

There is a new age shop in this town so I might drift in and see if I can find some beads or something to embellish it. Ideally I would eventually make my own beads and highlight them with gold paint, but that’s for down the line when we eventually get into a house.

Kosmas says “Count on it.”

 

 

About JJ

Eccentric erminois dweller.
This entry was posted in Tarot - General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Count on It

  1. Beverly King says:

    The iconoclasts and their ilk make me wonder how much art has been lost due to religious zealots. Reminds me of how the Taliban recently destroyed two of the world’s largest Buddha statues in Afghanistan. But a couple of smart folks created a life-size hologram projection of them to replace what was there. 🙂
    Raising a cup of hot tea to toast the King’s blessing on you guys.

    • JJ says:

      Lots of art, you can see the damage across Europe in smashed faces of statues and architectural details. Very sad this sort of fundamentalism or thuggery, really. And for nothing.

      I remember the Buddhist Statues as I saw pictures of them when looking for references to lapis lazuli in Afghanistan, and it seemed the minute I discovered them, they blew them up (2001.) I was thinking today about the damage in Palmyra, another fabled place, very haunting. These are sacred places for all people regardless of religious affiliation.

  2. Yeesh, religious zealotry and art destruction are so omnipresent it’s scary. About a decade ago, they put in some statues in the town in Germany where my uncle lives. They were naked, with anatomical elements, and got defaced (well, it was quite a different part of the anatomy that was hacked at) by prurient protestants. So, from Ancient Egypt (Pharoah’s being hacked from history by the followers of the next monarch/God or dynasty) to modern day Europe, it just never ends!

    Anyhow, glad that you are adding to the beauty and art in the world, rather than detracting from it, JJ. And hope the journalling went well 🙂

    • JJ says:

      It’s unbelievable that there are still people defacing art.

      Yes, journalling went well–I do the Gratitude Journal with the same purple ink and my vintage family pen, a Parker 51. The other journal is more angsty, everyday blather, but I use all different pens and ink colours in it. The past two days it was Damson by Diamine in my red Pilot 78G fountain pen. Whee, a nice plum colour!

Leave a Reply

