The Imprint

ACE OF WANDS

AceWands_CircleLife

I love this picture. The baby is holding a plant and has a vine seemingly imprinted on its skin, and then when you look closely, the human baby is curled up with a bird in the egg. Really, just a lovely piece of artwork.

I thought of birthing and slowly growing, nurturing life and creativity with this, as well as companionable nature, or maybe the co-nurturing of the natural world.

I’ve been wanting a higher grade of watercolour pencils, namely the Faber-Castell Albrecht Dürer Watercolour Pencils. They are a whopping price, but with Christmas money from my Dad, I managed to buy a tin of 36 and then added 6 colours that they had in open stock. I also topped up my Faber-Castell Polychromos Coloured Pencils by buying 12 more from open stock.

The thing about art supplies is that they are expensive and I say to myself “You don’t really need those” or “You can get by without them”, but as I have practiced this year, I found through using them that the Polychromos pencils are the best, better than my Prismacolors that my Dad also bought me 24 years ago, because they are oil-based rather than wax-based. So by extension, I know their Albrecht Dürer watercolour pencils are going to be better. They are going to have much better lay down and saturation than my Staedtler Karat Aquarell pencils.

Artwork is much on my mind because of the new journal and imaginary trip I am doing next year. I don’t want to let it go, I want to nurture it so it doesn’t become one more thing that I let slip away.

You’ve got to grip the plant in the womb, let it seep into your skin while waiting to be born.

 

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Tarot - General

Tags: ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

2 Comments on “The Imprint”

  1. Beverly King Says:

    That is a beautiful card – worthy of framing. I can think of a lot worse things to spend money on than art supplies. At least you don’t get hangovers from watercolor and coloring pencils. 😀


Leave a Reply

