Persistent Truth

3 OF WANDS

3Wands

Every time I pull the 3 of Wands it reminds me of a story I once planned to write about the Lusitania, relating it to this card and the man looking at a ship from a height on land. It would have been a great story but I didn’t start it when I had the impetus and although still in my mind, it’s probably going to stay there because over a decade has passed since I got the idea.

I have learned since then to try and get the dreams out of my mind, out into some concrete form. It’s one of the reasons I started writing poetry and drawing and painting again after many years, and writing this blog.

This is about effort and truth and watching your ship come in with anticipation or wistfully seeing it go, leaving you behind. I don’t have a lot of Wands energy these days but to keep the flame going I have to give it oxygen, even a little bit will keep those dreams alive, keep me creating, persisting, finishing.

For my weekly planner, I usually grab one or two quotes, and this week I had the word “persistence” in mind.

1) A river cuts through rock not because of its power, but because of its persistence.

2) When you feel like quitting: think about why you started.

Last week’s quotes were about motivation and really helped me get along:

3) Motivation is what gets you started. Habit is what keeps you going. [Jim Rohn]

4) Motivation is when your dreams put on work clothes. [Benjamin Franklin]

Isn’t that the truth?

 

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Tarot - General

Tags: ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

8 Comments on “Persistent Truth”

  1. Beverly King Says:

    Love the river and work clothes quotes!

    • JJ Says:

      Yeah, they’re good aren’t they? I wouldn’t have thought that these free weekly planner pages would do it for me, but I find them subtly contributing to my well-being.

      I liked the river one and the one about habit–now there’s a deep truth. We know this from our weekly drawings, right?

  2. tarottiferet Says:

    Excellent quotes. Don’t you remember how big my back burner used to be. It all changed with Fragments of an Illusion and giving up drinking and smoking. I try to stick to stuff and complete it as much as I can these days.

    • JJ Says:

      Yeah, the Fragments deck broke the dam! It’s amazing how lifestyle changes (drinking and smoking) can give you back the real you.


  3. I love this card, and I loved your interpretation of the 3 of Wands and how it relates to goals. I’ve been struggling, as I do perennially, with goals and goal-setting. I like Steve’s plan of just doing something. It’s better than worrying about not doing something. Haha! Hugs, MM


  4. I loved this card’s image, and also your mention of the struggle of goals and goal-setting (one of my perennial issues!) via this card. It seems like we’re always waiting for one ship or another to sail or come in. I like Steve’s idea of just doing something. That has served me better than thinking too much about my goals–something I definitely have an issue with. Lotsa love and hugs, MM

    • JJ Says:

      Steve and I have had this discussion many times. It eventually sinks in that you have to ACT to dispel anxiety.

      Goals are nothing, just ephemeral daydreaming unless you do something. It took me years to understand that. At work I knew this and could follow through, but in my personal, creative goals it seemed to elude me.


Leave a Reply

