Database in Mordor

Database Monday on Thursday…we had some house viewings this week and I am way behind, having swiffered the floors interminably this week and resurrected some patchwork pillows I made in the 1980s for decorative accents.

Steven Bright, master of the car boot sale, once sent me the The Lord of the Rings Tarot, for which I created a rather convoluted study where I used the deck with random snippets from the Poetic Edda and often tossed in a digital wreath. You can see them here.

LordoftheRings

Ah, there’s nothing so satisfying as a long ramble through a card with several tangents thrown in. This particular deck got bad reviews, but there is always a way to use a supposedly bad deck; I found it charming to use. One day when I have time, I will do a few more of these. The time thing though, will I ever see it again?

LordoftheRingsBck

“This deck unites two great traditions: the spiritual, mystical tradition of the tarot, and the world of folklore and fantasy which J. R. R. Tolkien brought to life in his timeless works. Every card is a glimpse into Middle-earth with scenes from The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit. Instructions included for a card game for 2 to 6 players.”

Illustrated by Peter Pracownik, written by Terry Donaldson, and published in 1997 by U.S. Games, I think this deck holds up. I gave it 5 out of 10 stars in my database, which might seem like a poor rating but I found it fun to use in my own little way.

Space, time, The White Tree, and Würms of the world. It all fits, it all ties together! Lest you doubt, lest you not have the Poetic Edda in your collection.

 

 

 

About JJ

Eccentric erminois dweller.
This entry was posted in Database Monday, Tarot - General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Database in Mordor

  1. tarottiferet says:

    I saw images of this the other day and it reminded me of you. In my book, you are rightly famed for your deck-tangents and card comparisons! 🙂

Leave a Reply

