Database Walk Through Ecumenism

Let’s tiptoe through Database Monday on Thursday. I seem to be having an allergic reaction to something with the mad itchies coupled with insomnia at 2 a.m.

This is the Kazanlar Tarot by Emil Kazanlar published in 1996 by A.G. Müller, a deck I traded for and almost never use. This is just my kind of deck with mythology, history, folk tales, religion and bits of Judaism, Christianity, Hinduism and Islam. This delicious mix appeals to me. I wonder if there is too great an ecumenical bent to absorb it adequately to use? No matter, I generally do single cards anyway.

KazanlarTarot

I like a certain amount of exploring, of looking things up, of understanding and comparing, but this seems a bit like stodgily working through James Joyce and trying to figure out the references. Still, I like a good workout. Dang, I only gave it a 4 out of 10 rating in the database.

I think I need another look at this, so I’ll find it and use it for a bit. No wonder I liked it so much that I traded for it, look at these interesting cards. Kazanlar wrote and illustrated the deck, and I always feel that denotes extra passion and commitment to the ideas, to getting the art to reflect accurate ideas.

Click to enlarge.

KazanlarTarotBack

Here is the blurb from my database on it:

The ecumenical attitude allows that different religions lead equally to God, so Kazanlar refers to this deck as The Ecumenical Tarot.

The Kabbalah references lead to the both the Old and New Testaments of the Christian Bible. For reversed meanings, the Kabbalistic Sephiroth changes.

Kazanlar was born in Iran from a father of mixed Persian and Turkish origin and his mother was Hungarian, so he grew up with two different religions. He also has some reference to the Islamic Koran in the deck and Hindu mythology.

The pictures range from the Indian dynasty of Moguls in the Wands (Clubs) suit; to the history and legends of Hungary in the Cups (Hearts) suit; to Persian history and fables like The Thousand and One Nights and imitation of Persian miniatures in the Discs (Diamonds) suit;  to Egyptian hieroglyphs and the history, customs and mythology of ancient Egypt in the Swords (Spades) suit.

 

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Database Monday

Tags: , , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

4 Comments on “Database Walk Through Ecumenism”

  1. Rose Says:

    Oh my! This a fabulous deck. It has gone straight to the top of the wishlist despite its OOP status. Hoping the OOP Tarot devas will help out here.

    • JJ Says:

      I can’t quite remember what I traded for it, but I remember being surprised that the woman was giving up a treasure like this.

      For me, I like finding things out with cards–if you look on my About page there is a great quote by Richard Feynman that I consider a personal philosophy. So a deck like this is GOLD even though it’s not conventionally “readable” for many people.

      I hope you can find it or trade for it at a reasonable cost. The booklet that comes with it is small but the entire thing is in English so it is packed with information, about 1 page per card which is unusual for a LWB. The outer frame of each card is in a matte gold and there are gold accents in the cards–they don’t sparkle but the original art must have shone. Emil Kazanlar paints faces well too–not always the case with images of people in decks. I admire the effort he put into this, I respect that with artists.

      I have it down by my computer now so I will be using it for a bit.

      • Rose Says:

        Well I shall hope to see more of it here then. In the meantime I’ve got a single lead on it but nothing concrete. If I do manage to acquire it I shall pop back here to let you know and thank you. Fingers and toes crossed.


Leave a Reply

