The King of Colour

I’ve been slowly colouring a paisley design with Faber-Castell Polychromos pencils, which I am wildly keen on. I’ve had four of these Dover colouring books for years, and use them occasionally for embroidery or bead embroidery or miniature rug designs. I never thought I’d colour them, but as long as I can still see the linework it doesn’t matter.

I can’t do too much because of chronic tendonitis, but as long as I wear my cuff, I can do a bit each day.

ColouringPaisley

KING OF CHALICES

KingChalices_CircleLife

No, he’s the King of Colour today, with his magic square on the side of his chair and his faithful dog, he is embracing fuchsia to cheer himself up. He does look a little glum but colour works wonders.

Success is not measured by how quickly it comes. He’s been waiting and waiting and it’s all getting tiresome but he is concentrating on colour today and not thinking about how slow success is in coming.

I had another nightmare about my last workplace. That was a bit of a downer but I woke up determined to focus on colour.

 

 

 

About JJ

Eccentric erminois dweller.
This entry was posted in Tarot - General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The King of Colour

  1. Beverly King says:

    I wonder if that sad sack behind him is influencing the King’s mood. Those coloring books have helped keep my husband sane as dementia takes over his mom.

    • JJ says:

      That sad sack looks like my husband this morning. 😉

      I know you’ve used the colouring books for your group too. We had a whirly day with another viewing. Same person only came for 5 minutes. We think they came to get a water sample to test the well. Maybe. Anyway, we have another viewing today and after the last time I hauled out the colouring book. It really is a calming thing, so I can see why your husband might have latched onto to it in desperation amid the tides of life.

      Anything that works but doesn’t destroy your body is good, right?

  2. chloetarot says:

    Focusing on colour is never a bad thing 🙂 My partner got me one of these colouring books for my birthday. I haven’t used it as much as I’d like, but I enjoy it every time I do spend even five minutes with it. Fascinating that you’ve used these for embroidery and rug designs. For the embroidery, do you actually put the paper over the material you’re embroidering?

    • JJ says:

      Well, I don’t think I’d colour all the time, just now and then. Nice to have variety in life.

      I trace the embroidery onto newsprint, outline it in a black marker, and then use my lightbox to transfer it to fabric.

Leave a Reply

