Turner Plays with Stars and Fluorescent Light Fixtures

Another postcard, recently from across the pond, which I finally found shoved in my nightie drawer with all the correspondence I have to catch up on. In a hurly-burly rush I put these postcards somewhere “safe” and then couldn’t find them.

THE EVENING STAR, ABOUT 1830
Joseph Mallord William Turner, 1775-1851
Oil on Canvas, 91.1 x 122.6 cm
The National Gallery

TheEveningStar_Turner

I’m never sure with Turner if I’m looking at exactly what he painted. He was known for trying out new paints and formulas, some of which were fugitive, so what we see today is not always what he painted colour-wise. This is a bit murky but it’s supposed to be evening as the sun sets, so I guess this is what he wanted. OR it might be a study for a fuller painting.

I’ve had an epiphany from Mr. Turner: sometimes what you think you want is not what you want.

The spouse and I had a bit of a blowout yesterday due to too much stress and fretting. So today we worked on cleaning the top of the kitchen cupboards and putting new wax paper lining down, cleaning the kitchen light fixtures, cleaning the spice cupboard and the tea cupboard, cleaning the fridge, cleaning acrylic panels for fluorescent lights in the basement, and edging and sweeping the front walk and painting the stoop, all the small things that needed doing. We also cleaned the front door and the screen door windows there and touched up the window paint.

As a reward, I got my inexpensive Chinese Jinhao x750 fountain pen in the mail. I just have to clean it thoroughly to get any machine oil out and then rinse it and give it a spin with Diamine Meadow ink. A nice reward for a day’s work on fiddly stuff.

I shall be able to enjoy the evening star tonight, I can just see it reflected on the sea.

 

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Art Postcards

Tags: , , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

2 Comments on “Turner Plays with Stars and Fluorescent Light Fixtures”

  1. Beverly King Says:

    An evening star today, a blue moon tomorrow. Glad to hear you’re going to take some time for some fun. You need to balance out all that work you’ve been doing!

    • JJ Says:

      We both need the balance. We watched some TV last night and I caught up on some correspondence on my newly clean and rearranged drafting board. Today I was up at 7 cleaning and tidying for getting photos of the house taken.


Leave a Reply

