Swan in the Bamboo

I took a tumble over a large concrete planter my husband moved out front by our door. I was carrying a load of laundry to hang on the line outside and never saw it; whacked into the concrete, went over the lip and smashed into the grass losing my shoe. Whew, so glad I didn’t break anything.

So, feeling sorry for myself I ordered a biography of Vita Sackville-West by Victoria Glendinning on inter-library loan. A book, what could be better!

I was catching up with Benebell Wen’s blog a few days ago and she was discussing the Mah Jong cards she had bought. I was mentioning one of the decks I’m using today in a comment, which was why I thought to haul it out.

She recently did a review of the Haindl deck which was my second deck, and it was great to see her discussing one of my old favourites. She’s been doing that recently in her reviews, examining older decks and systems. She also did The Way of the Horse which has been a favourite of mine since it was first published and got me reading Linda Kohanov’s books like The Tao of Equus, Riding Between the Worlds and the fascinating The Power of the Herd. I hesitate to comment on people’s blogs when I don’t know them, particularly after I got blasted by some guru twit, so I never commented to tell Benebell about Linda’s books, but they are good if you’re interested in intuition and animal communication, that deeper bond.

12. GRACE
6 BAMBOO – WATER

Grace_6Bamboo

The way Sandra painted this swan in the Grace card is lovely. A little bit abstract which is rather like the concept of Grace. In her view Grace is about forgiving ourselves and others, not judging, not having a false personality (a nod to The Ugly Duckling I expect), and letting go of things. Disruptions in life are a message from the Universe to change yet still have compassion.

This Mah Jongg card can relate to correspondence or travel. It reminds me that this week we had to tell relatives overseas that they couldn’t visit because we are right in the middle of trying to move. They wanted to come in August but we might have to fly out west then and buy our new house, and even if we are here, the house will be up for sale, it’s hardly the time to go gallivanting on trips, trying to relax and have a vacation, leaving the pets at home alone. We told them next year it would be better, and I don’t think they were too happy, but they seem to have had little thought for our circumstances and present upheaval.

We escaped that particular danger with grace, welcoming them next year when we’ll be living in a place which has much more to see and do. The Grace card is also about judging so it works both ways with people. I think, when we were trying bravely to accept these visitors during a difficult and life-changing time, that we were trying to mask how we felt and put on false personalities to accommodate others. The Swan is a reminder of that.

It’s hard to say “No” to people, but it was not the right time.

Explore posts in the same categories: Miscellaneous Cards

Tags: , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

6 Comments on “Swan in the Bamboo”

  1. Beverly King Says:

    Ouch! Glad you didn’t break anything.

    Boo, hiss at all the know-it-all gurus. 😀

    That swan is lovely the way she framed it. Funny, I was just talking about grace with a woman last night (trying to deprogram her from her biblical upbringing, which was causing her all kinds of grief). I was telling her about Paul Tillich who believed sin was feeling separate and apart while grace had to do with feeling connected and a part of all. He writes of grace: “And nothing is demanded of this experience, no religious or moral or intellectual presupposition, nothing but acceptance.”
    Also tried to explain the bible was written in a particular historical period for the benefit of a particular group of people. Sort of like us reading a letter from the Civil War period and trying to apply it now.
    Churches should have to pay for therapy later in life. 😀

    • JJ Says:

      Oh, I like that analogy about the Civil War.

      I also like Paul’s definition of grace. It bears remembering in both day-to-day living and the global problems we have.

      I sometimes sound like a know-it-all because I like to discuss things and question and get all the information, but these guru types don’t want people who question. They seem to have a bit of a chip on the shoulder; some insecurity I guess.

      My husband uses a charming expression for such people: “Dead from the arsehole up” which is apt.

      • Beverly King Says:

        Heehee, I like your husband’s description. 🙂 I just got a shoulder chip flicked at me when I pointed out that someone might be making a sweeping generalization on a certain forum (I should know better, but they sort of stomped on another person’s foot). I will not reply to her reply (which was a firm “I AM RIGHT”) – discussion I like, but not so much debate.

        • JJ Says:

          I don’t even think that’s debate Bev, it’s self-righteous argument.

          The Jump the Shark forum as I call it. If you’re a pet you can say whatever you like to people or if they have a “special” thread you can bash everyone about.

          Meh.

          There was a time when I was quite stroppy with people even to the point of bullying. I remember a few e-mails I sent…sigh. Now I’m just interested to hear people’s thoughts and what’s going on. If they argue, I disengage. Argument stops learning cold and I prefer to learn.

  2. furtheron Says:

    Ouch!!! Hope you feel better soon


Leave a Reply

