Old Stodgy in the Crepuscular Rays

I’ve been sick again with massive and painful edema, headache and other pain. It really takes the shine out of the day. All I can do is eat properly and drink lots of water and try to support my body through its latest crisis.

KNIGHT OF PENTACLES
Bear

Knight_Pents_AOF

Old Stodgy (as I call this card across decks) is here to tell me to be stoic. Sometimes you just have to sit and wait, and hide behind a log and watch.

Bear likes to hibernate and then wake up in the Spring; he is always reliable and dependable. He waits it out and then awakens. It takes time after a long hibernation to get back in tip top shape and get sustenance and feel like yourself.

Until then he sits and scratches himself on a log and breathes in the smells of the woods. He likes the crepuscular rays that filter through the trees, bringing the light down upon him.

The Stodger likes light.

Explore posts in the same categories: Tarot - General

Tags: , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

6 Comments on “Old Stodgy in the Crepuscular Rays”

  1. chloetarot Says:

    Sorry you’re in pain again, JJ! Old Stodger’s advice sounds good – enjoy that lovely sun porch of yours, and take things easy until you feel like yourself again:)

    • JJ Says:

      Thanks Chloe, I do have to start this week’s sketch, so I might just pop out on the sunporch. Lots of light there, good for the soul.

  2. Beverly King Says:

    Sorry to hear you’re not feeling well. It does take some dogged determination to keep taking gentle care of the body while refusing to believe any thoughts that tell you things will never get better or change. Hang in there my friend; sending some serene, sunny thoughts your way.

    • JJ Says:

      It’s quite disheartening Bev.

      I had Pema Chodron’s book “The Places that Scare You: A Guide to Fearlessness in Difficult Times” out yesterday trying to bolster myself against hopelessness and it helped quite a bit. I was up and down most of the night and only got about 4 hours of sleep, so that contributes.

      • Beverly King Says:

        Sounds like a nap might be in order today. 🙂

        • JJ Says:

          I wish I could, I tried yesterday and the dogs woke me up barking for their dinner at noon. Little darlings. I find it hard to get comfortable when I have pain and I’m avoiding Tylenol or aspirin as I’m too sick.

          I had a super-duper vitamin powder in water this morning that the naturopath gave me just in case I have a deficiency, and I’ve just put a nice fresh pot of soup on with onion, leeks, carrots, broccoli, celery, red lentils and a bit of potato.

          I’ll drink a couple of glasses of water and then have that soup for lunch. I’m avoiding dairy and grains, processed food, tea.


Leave a Reply

