Database in Japanese Taupe and Blue

I noticed one of the tarot folk had taken down a comment I made. He was whining about Facebook and people asking for free readings while he was running a tarot business. Fair enough, but why hang around the notoriously fatuous Facebook at all? Mine is not a popular stance, but if you want to charge higher prices as a professional don’t hang around the vacuous on “social media” and then complain about the devaluing attitude you get for your services. You can remove my comment, but degrading yourself by ranting and becoming insularly defensive is your choice, not the fault of others.

I had a dream that our entire water system collapsed (we are on well water) and when the contractor came to fix it, the whole system had been installed wrong and he couldn’t prime it. This sent me rocketing out of bed at 3:20 trying to dispel anxiety. What better than a database to bring me back to earth?

Here is my printer showing a few decks and the new handmade Fauxdori knock-off of a Midori Notebook I am making. Yes, it’s shaping up. I am not fond of the colour brown, but this leather is a grey-brown so not too bad. For the inserts and paper, and beads, I am using soft blue, taupe, soft greens to tone down the brown.

PrinterTop

THE ART OF JAPAN KNOWLEDGE CARDS

Since the true Midoris are made in Japan I thought it would be appropriate to have the Art of Japan Knowledge Cards from the database today.

ArtofJapanKnowledgeCards

I LOVE Knowledge Cards but I don’t see them up here in Canada. I used to order from the States but the store I went to went out of business.

This is a nice, quiet, contemplative deck with great photography and information. From the blurb on the box:

“Renowned for it decorative effect, the ever-evolving art of Japan includes painted screens, wood block prints, lacquerware, ceramics, netsuke, and gorgeous kimonos. Traditional methods of Japanese painting – influenced by the Chinese style of painting and calligraphy, Buddhist iconography, nature themes, and literary works – appeared in beautiful hanging scrolls made of silk or soft paper or painted with ink and watercolours. The dry-lacquer process was used in sculptures, and representations of Buddhist deities and saints were depicted in wood and bronze.

The 48 cards in this deck reveal the vibrancy, life, and color of Japanese art. Each card depicts a full-colour reproduction of a work on one side, and the other side presents interesting information about the image.”

ArtofJapanBack

Cards and learning, my favourite thing. You can’t go wrong.

Explore posts in the same categories: Database Monday

Tags: , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

6 Comments on “Database in Japanese Taupe and Blue”

  1. Beverly King Says:

    If money were no object, my entire house (and yard) would look like a Zen monastery combined with a Japanese museum. I LOVE Asian art. I need to stop coming to your blog on database days – it is too enabling! 😀
    The notebook is shaping up nicely!

    • JJ Says:

      AND Knowledge Cards are so readily available down there Bev. These ones are OOP though so I think you’re safe!

      Yeah, I really like the notebook now. Brown is one of those yech colours unless I put it with blue.

  2. chloetarot Says:

    I’m a fan of brown, it can be such a warm, rich colour 🙂 Each to their own. Lovely art there – I saw a netsuke exhibition a couple of years ago, and that last image reminds me of it. Been reading the booklet of the Mucha Tarot, which talks about Art Nouveau as a movement with the aim of creating beauty in all areas, not just art. The Japanes had them pipped, there! 🙂

    • JJ Says:

      I like netsuke. Did you read the non-fiction book “The Hare with Amber Eyes” Chloe? It was terrific, I want to read it again.

      Off to the store for art paper….


Leave a Reply

