The Animalis Iguana with Desk Accessories

I got the Animalis Os Fortuna Tarot today in the mail. What a delight! No question this was for me. One of the first cards I saw was the Iguana on the Nine of Wands.

He seems to be walking on a corduroy bridge made of bones. But wait, I think they are actually fountain pens. A few friends joined him on the writing desk today, and a custom iguana fountain pen which the lady filled with green ink. You can never have too much green or too many iguana pictures.

You might recognize the guy on the antique button with the bird, it is my own primitive attempt at an iguana from years ago. These iguanas apparently like antique shops and flea markets.

The card to the left you might also recognize from Nature’s Wisdom Oracle by Mindy Lighthipe. I’ve used them before because they have iguanas on them when no one else does. Oops I got my layers mixed up in Photoshop, there’s a plant over the card from the stationery border, perhaps a desert plant that Mr. Iguana was unaware of and now feels compelled to identify?

Click to enlarge.

IguanaMontage_med

We need a club that people can join: Iguana Artists United or something. And who wouldn’t want a fountain pen with little iguana heads on the cap?

The Nine of Wands in this deck is a perseverance type of card. Look at this dogged chappie, forging on to his destination, trusting that he’s going in the right direction. I often think of defensiveness with the Rider-Waite version of this card. There’s a hint here of leaving the fortress, the defensive position, of maybe getting out there. OR now that I look at it he might be sitting on a trap of bones covering a hole and luring people to fall into the Pit of Despair.

It depends on your day I suppose.

Yes, we must do a jigsaw of this. Of course.

IguanaJigsaw_sm

All kidding aside, this is a wonderful deck and well thought out.

 

 

 

About JJ

Eccentric erminois dweller.
This entry was posted in Tarot - General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Animalis Iguana with Desk Accessories

  1. tarottiferet says:

    I am so glad it came! Much fun for you.

    And I always say it but your Iguana is in a class of it’s own! Love it!

    • JJ says:

      Thanks Steve, I do like a good reptile. I have a great full-colour book (where I also got the photo reference for the gecko I painted for the Diary of a Broken Soul Tarot review) and I keep meaning to do more reptiles.

Leave a Reply

