The Standardized Lack of Everything

FIVE OF WANDS
8 OF CLUBS – Protection from Standardized Education

FiveWands_8Clubs

Oh boy, you just have to wonder about coincidence and cards.

The 8 of Clubs is a card about frustration and blockage. Nothing you does works, you can’t seem to get on and you get impatient. Then you wrap Corina’s label on the card into that and how apt it becomes. I did not do well in school, partly because I had a bad teacher who hated me when young and I was always ill, and partly because I never fit in. I am not a group fit kind of person. I was always up in the clouds reading my own books, exploring by myself.

I used to see things on TV and then write short essays on them, but never show them to my teacher. Still today I like to write essays with cards, but standardized education would have been horrified and I would have been bullied endlessly for doing this had other children known. At the age of seven I saw Jane Goodall and her chimpanzees on television and wrote an essay on her. I remember delighting in it but not wanting to show anyone at school. Good call. It was just for me, just for my own joy and interest.

The Five of Wands is about strife. You either hide from those beating you or you join the gang and beat other people, whether physically or mentally. These kids look like they’ve learned about cooperation and kindliness from standardized education. Along with useful things like reading, writing, and math, you learn to compete and join cliques, to be self-conscious and tamp every inch of independent personality you might have way down. Never question, never answer, write only what is expected, keep whining, learn to hate everything. Boring.

This is a day where I think about cooperation, putting conflicts behind me, and leave behind standardized thought. Isn’t it fortunate that after standardized education, you can explore and learn yourself?

Yup.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Playing Cards, Tarot - General

Tags: , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

2 Comments on “The Standardized Lack of Everything”

  1. chloetarot Says:

    As a parent, it’s really tough deciding on what to do for my kids. They need to learn the basics, but I’d love them also to learn to think for themselves and to follow their passions, to learn what inspires them and to have confidence in themselves. A pretty tall order, I guess.
    I never wrote extra essays out of school, but I wrote poems and plays, and used to work on learning languages in my holidays – Esperanto, French, Spanish 😀
    Hopefully, our passion will inspire others, and act as that protection from standardized education!

    • JJ Says:

      It’s a tall order in a society where the nirvana of intellectual reach involves the Kardashians or Big Brother or the Daily Mail gossip columns. Sheesh.

      Hey, did you ever hear the song Esperanto by Kurt Elling and Vince Mendoza?

      The way I figure it: if a child can read and write and do basic math (enough to do income taxes and banking) then they have the tools to expand their reach when adults. Many of us choose to do so.


Leave a Reply

