Viking Teeth in the World Eduardo

Daily Draw April 14, 2015

21 – THE WORLD
8 OF SPADES – protection from being led astray

World_8Spades

I am taking the reversed meaning of The World today: dissatisfaction, regret, and isolation.

The 8 of Spades is about tears, so perhaps I need a good cry to get it out of my system and get on? I’m feeling overwhelmed by material burdens and waste and I do think the idea of completion and beginning a new stage with The World is true but I can’t seem to shake the rest of it.

The Viking ship on the 8 of Spades reminds me of being led astray to crush and destroy and acquire. Do we need so much? Not at all, it all seems to end up in landfill sites. There is simply too much, too much.

We tried to give away some good new books to a used book store and they only took a handful, overwhelmed with junk. All those trees and knowledge, discarded and unwanted. Regret, regret.

Well, perhaps he needs to recoup and rest before his emotions lead him astray?

Eduardo Galeano died on April 13th, and it reminded me that the Portable Fortitude deck was the one that gave me knowledge of him and his writing. All those books and knowledge, gone. That balance in the world, that thoughtful voice against waste and acquisition, gone.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Playing Cards, Tarot - General

Tags: , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

2 Comments on “Viking Teeth in the World Eduardo”

  1. Beverly King Says:

    We are book lovers here too, but when they were all stacked under beds and in corners instead of on bookcases or tables, I knew we needed to give some away. Our library has a “for sale” rack where they sell overbought or under-used books; they took six large boxes. It was a win-win for me. We got some space, the library made some money, and people got some nice books at a cheap price. I’ve got a kindle paperwhite for books I want to read, so I’m trying to use that instead of buying too many “real” books. I’m also trying to do as Sharyn suggests with my decks; if one comes in, then one needs to go out (usually given away). When you stay in one spot for a long time, it’s easy to accumulate a lot of things! Thankfully I could care less about buying clothes. 🙂

    • JJ Says:

      Yes, we are taking three bags of books down to the library today. I often do inter-library loans instead of buying things, but even so the books add up.

      That’s just it, isn’t it–we’ve been here for 29 years and things have built up.

      I have several decks I could trade or give away but no one seems to want them!


Leave a Reply

