The Illusion of City Planning

I felt like fiddling with a playing card deck and a tarot deck. When I went to put back a previous deck I used I came across the Portable Fortitude Playing Cards and thought “That’s it!” I’ve been wanting to use the lovely Dreaming Way Tarot again for some time, so it went into the mix. Two excellent decks; cards from inspirational heaven in a sea of junk.

The Portable Fortitude deck was one I bought on Etsy, one of my fond memories of an outstanding artist and a black and white deck. There is another tarot deck (Animalis Os Fortuna Tarot) by an outstanding artist (Megan Weber) that I am saving up for and it is black and white. Alas, I have to wait until June or July to buy but that’s okay, I’ve wanted it since last summer, I suppose I can wait 2 or 3 months more.

That’s how you know the deck is right for you!!

SEVEN OF CUPS
10 OF DIAMONDS – Protection from city planning

7Cups_10Diam

I often get lost in Seven of Cups “up in the clouds” daydreaming. Many creative people do, the trick is to get your feet on the ground so you can accomplish something rather than just dream about all the wonderful things you want or can accomplish, or all the money you will make or the lottery you will win and the big castle you want to live in, or the snake waiting to bite you.

The 10 of Diamonds is a neutral card about money. I love this depiction, it’s spot-on isn’t it? City planners, like architects, artists, dreamers, writers, anybody creative, can go a bit crazy dreaming up impractical things. Here they’ve crowded out homes and the growth of plants, blocked the light, put a highway next to living space. Suffocating, noisy, and dark.

I need to get my weekly sketch done. I have preliminaries done but after going back to bed for four hours yesterday I felt like looking at cards and dreaming about art rather than doing art. A little nod from the crowded house on the playing card to edit my picture, keep to reality of space and time and injured hands.

Great cards.

Happy Sunday!

Explore posts in the same categories: Playing Cards, Tarot - General

Tags: , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

2 Comments on “The Illusion of City Planning”

  1. chloetarot Says:

    Those decks mix nicely, as there’s so much black and white in the Dreaming Way 🙂 Good luck planning in some space for you and your art.

    • JJ Says:

      I’d actually forgotten some of the black and white patterns in the Dreaming Way. It’s one of my favourite decks in both art and Zen approach.


Leave a Reply

