Don’t Get Your Feathers Ruffled

One of my favourite birds and quite striking and mysterious.

5 OF SPADES
Pesquet’s Parrot (Psittrichas fulgidus)

5Spades

In this system this card is about seething, burning anger, which actually goes with the colour of this bird.

It is an endangered species due to habitat loss and over-hunting for the feathers. It has a very specialized diet of specific figs so habitat loss would be serious. The birds are highly vocal and communicate with each other with loud, grating calls. They can be very loud when their territory or fig trees are approached by other birds. Holy man, get a load of this voice.

This information fits well with the meaning in the Personal Prophesy book.

For me, I would think it’s a caution about my temper. Fire clears the way for new growth but anger can get away from you so it’s best to control it.

I got a hankering for a tarot book. There aren’t too many I’m interested in, and I pretty much stick to the Power Tarot book and Pictures from the Heart if I want to research a card further than the booklet that comes with the deck. I frequently enjoy James Ricklef’s blog and after some browsing of reviews I bought his book The Soul’s Journey which has a spiritual depth and tie-in to texts and mindfulness that I like.

SoulsJourney_Ricklef

Update: It was on backorder for so long that I cancelled it, but it still looks interesting. I bought an art technique book instead on drawing and painting portraits. I’ll probably use that more in the end.

Explore posts in the same categories: Playing Cards

Tags: , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

4 Comments on “Don’t Get Your Feathers Ruffled”

  1. Beverly King Says:

    I’ve got Ricklef’s Tarot Affirmations; it uses his Tarot of the Masters in it, which is primarily why I bought it. But lately I’ve been using his Pithy Tarot ebook; it’s been wonderful when my brain is sleep-deprived and I need a jump-start for a tarot card. I’m looking forward to what you think of this one. 🙂

    • JJ Says:

      I spoke to you about his deck but just couldn’t afford it. Would love that and his book on the deck “Uncovering The Tarot Of The Masters”.

      I don’t have $100 hanging around so I thought I could spend $24 for a May treat. Fortunately Amazon doesn’t charge until they ship.

      I really enjoy the Pithy sayings but I don,t have an e-Reader and it’s difficult with my neck and back pain to read on a regular computer.

      I haven’t bought a book like this for years, so looking forward to using it–will let you know as I go what I think of it.

  2. tarottiferet Says:

    I love reading about the birds and how the images/species can be interpreted. I really got that feeling of anger from the red in the picture and the look on the birds face. These images of the birds are very expressive so far.


Leave a Reply

