The Sorrows of Young Wormwood

26 – WORMWOOD
Sorrow

Wormwood

I am a bitter this week, as I keep having dreams about a job I was fired from ten years ago. I thought it was done and gone but it seems to have popped up again. I don’t know if it’s just the looming anniversary or something else.

I got a new affirmation for pain via Louise Hay which I have taped to my bathroom mirror. I’ve been reciting it regularly as it addresses my mindset and crippling chronic pain.

Condition: Fibromyalgia; General Myalgia; Myofascial Pain
Probable Cause: Represents rigid and stiff thinking. Tension, fear, and holding on to the past.

New thought pattern (or affirmation):
I am relaxed and safe. My mind is flexible and peaceful, and so is my body.
I am free of pain, and all is well!

So every time I flutter by and speak the words on the mirror and move my arms and body flexibly, perhaps my mind says “Oh no, I’m not letting you get away easily!” and throws a terrible dream at me?

You never know.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Miscellaneous Cards

Tags: , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

8 Comments on “The Sorrows of Young Wormwood”

  1. Beverly King Says:

    It takes a while to retrain our brains to a new way of thinking. When we are stressed or in pain, our minds naturally go back to familiar patterns and habits. But keep doing something long enough, and it will become the new pattern. Gentle hugs of support.

    • JJ Says:

      I’ve tried before but I’m sure I just didn’t keep it up long enough.

      I also think ONE affirmation at a time works as you are more likely to assimilate the idea because of the concentration of focus.

      Thanks Bev.

      • Beverly King Says:

        To be honest, I’m not sure about the part of the affirmation that says “I am free of pain.” It’s one thing to relax and develop the mental strength (and compassion) for the pain, but it’s another thing entirely to convince your brain and body it doesn’t exist when both are quite aware it does. One group of psychologists said that instead of using definitive statements, we should turn the affirmation into a question: Am I relaxed and safe? Is my mind flexible and peaceful? This would make us mindful of the kind of thoughts we’re having at the moment and the tension we may be holding in our body (making things worse). The questions make us pause for the cause (consciously relax) and check the facts (yes I hurt, but it won’t last forever). 🙂

        • JJ Says:

          I was wondering about using that phrase as it sets the word “pain” in the mind. I was thinking it might be better to say “I am full of health and all is well” or something.

          Not sure about the query, because if I say “Am I relaxed and safe?” I would automatically say “No” which would defeat me before I started.


  2. What a beautiful card. What deck is it from, if I may ask? 🙂


Leave a Reply

