Database Pose in Black and White

This is actually not a card deck but a bundle of postcards. My initial collection of postcards started with a huge bundle of reduced-price postcards from Pomegranate Publishing. I think at the time they thought postcards were dead and wanted to get rid of their old ones. This is a separate bundle of black and white photographs that I removed from the main bunch.

B-WPhotographyPostcards

Old Hollywood stills, publicity shots, advertising photos, landscapes, early platinum, albumen, bromide and silver prints by famous photographers like Edward Steichen and Alfred Stieglitz, even early photographs by prolific photographer Lewis Carroll. Some photos are included from the US Civil War, and also noted jazz musicians and famous actors, authors, musicians and other theatrical personas.

B-WPhotographyPostcardsBack

Two black and white prints of paintings of of J.S. Bach and Beethoven, and two hand-tinted colour photographs from the 1930s are included in my ” black and white photographs” bundle. They seemed to fit there.

If you do a search for postcards or postcard books at online booksellers, you will see that postcards are not dead at all. I keep adding to my collection from the odd book or box of postcards newly printed, and generous people keep sending me postcards from their travels. It has burgeoned into a lovely sub-genre of my card collection.

This little black and white bundle with strangely eccentric stills was half of what started it all.

 

 

About JJ

Eccentric erminois dweller.
This entry was posted in Database Monday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Database Pose in Black and White

  1. Beverly King says:

    The postcard of the woman with the boat is beautiful. I need to round up the postcards my mom has sent me on her trips. I think she’s been to 52 countries so far. I imagine her death will be on an airplane or boat somewhere; she’s a living representation of the quote:
    “Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming “Wow! What a Ride!”

    • JJ says:

      It is a fantastic photo…I think it’s movie still…just a sec and I’ll pull it out.

      Nope, it’s a photograph called “Silent Waters” from 1946 by Anthony Peacock who seems to have specialized in nude photography. It is copyrighted by The Royal Photographic Society in Bath, so I assume he was a member although I can’t seem to find biographical information about him.

      Oh yes, find all the postcards your Mom sent you–what a treasure those would be. I occasionally use my postcards as oracles. I draw 3 to 4 cards and “read” them.

      Forgot to say, this is a bromide print Bev.

Leave a Reply

