Thank God for Tree Leaves

I haven’t done one of these for 2.5 years, I couldn’t believe it. When I went to write my haiku for this I had to take my Handbook of Poetic Forms out to read about the form. To-date, I have been using the conventional Western treatment of 5-7-5 syllables on the three lines. According to my book you need a short first and last line and a longer middle line, but it’s more important to get the mood than the form, so the syllables are not tied up always.

This is pretty close, but I decided to be slightly freeform.

Haiku_leopard

Leopard_InstantOracle

I am hiding a bit today in a tree of the mind.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Instant Oracle Haiku Commitment

Tags: ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

4 Comments on “Thank God for Tree Leaves”

  1. chloetarot Says:

    Huh, thought I’d left a response… Isn’t it interesting that we Westerners grabbed onto the “5-7-5” thing and made it a dogma, when the reality is more free-form! Your last sentence could be a haiku in itself:
    I am
    Hiding a bit today in
    A tree of the mind

    • JJ Says:

      It is dogma, that’s all I’ve ever heard. I’ve had that book on poetic forms for 7 to 10 years and some how this escaped me.

  2. Beverly King Says:

    I guess school drilled the 5-7-5 syllable rule in my head; I had no idea that was a Western invention. Lovely haiku. 🙂


Leave a Reply

