Sitting with Sadness, I Read a Joke at 2 a.m.

After sitting all day yesterday I had trouble getting to sleep. Either that or the TV people were talking to me; after twelve hours of television I wasn’t sure.

So, I picked up a book I am reading called The Sportswriter by Richard Ford which is the first in a series of four books about one character. In the book, the character’s son tells him a joke. I laughed and read on but I had to flip the pages back three times to re-read the joke as I found it so delightful. An hour later at 2:30 a.m. I was still chuckling about the joke, and felt I could no longer contain it inside me, so I went to the foot of the bed and shook my husband’s foot.

Upon receiving a guttural mumble of alarm, I figured the receipt of a joke would be welcomed, but I apologized for waking him up and through several attempts not to laugh I told him the joke. He seemed receptive but immediately went back to sleep when I turned the light off. I then went back to my book and read for thirty minutes and then went to bed.

45 – SAD EMBRACE
“Loss is a part of life. Let go and allow time to heal you.”

SadEmbrace

Suffering and loss will pass if you let them; they dissipate naturally in time. Holding on to feelings of the unfairness of life and feeling like a victim keeps you held tightly, unable to breathe freely.

Sit with your sadness, you won’t be left adrift forever. I guess that’s me sitting in front of the TV for twelve hours yesterday. Holding tightly, not allowing me to breathe reminds me of chronic muscle tension and pain. I do feel some days like I am locked up, unable to breathe or move.

You’re wondering what the joke was aren’t you?

Q: Who speaks Irish and lives in the back yard?

A: Paddy O’Furniture

I told you it was funny.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Oracles - General

Tags: ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

4 Comments on “Sitting with Sadness, I Read a Joke at 2 a.m.”

  1. Beverly King Says:

    I have to admit I had to read it aloud before it clicked. But I sure hooted when the lightbulb came on! 🙂


Leave a Reply

