Hydrangeas Can Be Overly Showy

CAT – WORSHIP
PEACOCK – Beware of great pride.

Cat_Peacock

Another seemingly made for each other duo.

The Cat card talks about how the Egyptians worshiped the cat and considered it valuable as a worker and companion. The cat’s qualities of independence and regal ways are attractive to us, and thus an attitude to emulate for us to be adored by our peers.

Maybe.

Peacock has another way of looking at it, some balance at least. Self-aggrandizement can lead to troubling feelings of omnipotence that tend to make you mean and rude. We dislike seeing others puff themselves up with self-importance so the message here is to be independent and carry yourself with regal respect but not to let it go to your head.

While you’re at it, perhaps a nice hydrangea bush for the garden…?

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Miscellaneous Cards, Oracles - General

Tags: , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

8 Comments on “Hydrangeas Can Be Overly Showy”

  1. tarottiferet Says:

    You know, Hydrangers are my least favourite flower/bush. It’s the pastel colouring. It makes me feel quite sick. When we were in Cornwall, they were everywhere. There is just something about them.

    Great card team again though. And yes, I can understand the ‘puffing up’ thing. I sometimes find it hard to know where the line is when advertising/promoting my stuff. When does confidence appear arrogant!

    • JJ Says:

      I think there’s a way of promoting yourself yet remaining polite and interested in other people. For me that’s the key to whether someone is truly arrogant: discernment about narcissism and self-involvement.

      I used to often get labelled an arrogant know-it-all on lists and forums because when I get interested in something I’m relentless in discussing it and jumping in with questions and answers. It isn’t arrogance it is curiosity.

      If you have a brain some folk consider you arrogant for using it. Another facet of this to be aware of–skewy perception.

      No, you don’t like hydrangeas??!!! I said to the spouse this morning after drawing this card that I wanted a hydrangea in our new house in the milder climate of the coast where we hope to land. Here, they are not hardy.

  2. Beverly King Says:

    I have a yard full of blue hydrangea shrubs; the soil is so acidic, it can’t take up the aluminum in the soil to turn the blooms pink.
    Confidence seems like an inner glow that helps you reach out to others, while pride seems like a strobe light trying to attract attention.

  3. chloetarot Says:

    Hmm, for me there’s something about the way cats know how to accept compliments, strokes, and whatever else you offer them, and accept them with grace, that I would more like to emulate than a sense of wanting to be adored… 🙂

  4. tarottiferet Says:

    Nice thoughts there, ladies.

    I think that I see so much of the ‘strobe-light’ about that I try my best to not appear the same. I try to appear confident and professional, without coming across as some unapproachable know-it-all tarot guru.

    I like your thoughts about interest in others. As an example, I find Twitter a hard slog (I understand all of the reasons you don’t like it Judy). In some cases, it has been useful, but generally, people seem more interested in publicising their ‘this and that’ than ‘connecting’. I have reached out to people and they’ve not even acknowledged my comments. The irony is that there are some who have many thousands of followers, but who still find the time to respond or acknowledge, and then there are others who have far less, who can’t even pass on a simple thank you.

    My parents like Hydrangers too and I shudder whenever they suggest getting them. I also don’t like Pampas grass, but they got one of those. That also brings something out in me. Both remind me of the 1970s.

    • JJ Says:

      Oh-oh, I guess I shouldn’t tell you that when we sold my Dad’s house I got an old book that had pampas grass pressed inside the pages from when I cut and pressed it when I was 17, back in the 1970s.

      No, I better keep that to myself.


Leave a Reply

