More Eye Candy from the Database

Ooooh eye candy. While browsing in there I noticed a couple of decks where I’d skimped on card samples, usually because the cards were larger and I figured I’d just get the entry in the database.

I good example of “Hey Roddy Somerville I Miss You” these are the gorgeous facsimile cards printed by Piatnik that I think are the most expensive historical deck I have purchased. I bought them from Mr. Somerville’s web site before he stopped trading in 2011. I hope his health has improved, he was an interesting gentleman who stocked the most fascinating playing cards and historical decks.

I only had one card in the database as an example, so I went back in today and scanned five more. Being a facsimile deck they even show the tears and wear on the cards–they are actually cut to show this which is most unusual for a facsimile deck. They are the Ambraser Hofämterspiel cards. Click to enlarge.

AmbraserHofamterspielBack

 

If anyone has been reading for the nearly seven years I’ve had this card blog, you will know that I like odd decks and am particularly fond of several decks that Chronicle Books published. This one is Nature’s Pharmacy Deck and it has fifty beautiful botanical paintings from the collection of the New York Botanical Garden.

I only had two scanned in so had to rectify that. Yummy. Click to enlarge.

NaturesPharmacyBack

 

I still have a few more cards to scan in. I was never much for databases until I discovered I could make a VISUAL database using the Book Collector software.

Your database is your friend.

Your friend is your database.

Not as great a friend as books, but pretty close.

As close as the fragrant white blossoms of the hawthorn and just as much a heart tonic.

 

 

 

About JJ

Eccentric erminois dweller.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Cards and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More Eye Candy from the Database

  1. chloetarot says:

    Both beautiful decks in very different ways! Imagining your database, and the associated collection, makes me feel less guilty about mine. I keep hearing other people talking about downsizing or clearing out, but I just don’t have it in me right now 😀

    • JJ says:

      I could downsize a bit but who would buy them? It’s very expensive to ship from Canada, probably $10 to $15 per deck, so I figure I must find a way to work with each of them.

      I noticed a trend a few years ago with some very staunch collectors getting rid of their collections, and this continues today. I can see weeding out a few, but my card decks are like my beloved books, they mean something to me, they support me, support my mind and exploring with my mind. I don’t want to give that up.

      They are an irreplaceable reference section in my bookcases. Never the ephemeral “squee” of the moment, they actually all meant something deeper or allowed me the time to reflect deeper on something I was interested in. I’m not getting rid of that!

  2. Beverly King says:

    That was brilliant to use the book software to scan your card collection. 🙂 Those decks are lovely; I particularly like the botanical one. Many years ago I experimented growing medicinal herbs from seed. It was more work than I anticipated, though I loved some of the teas I concocted.

    • JJ says:

      It’s a great idea to scan samples in and use it for the image for the “Back Cover” in the software. Works like a charm. I keep telling people how great it is for cards!

      My sister recently bought some cacti at a show that people had grown from seed. Some plants are hard to grow from seed and take ages.

Leave a Reply

