Five Faves From Five Freshies

I had only planned to buy one deck for Christmas but out of the blue four more came. I hadn’t planned it but they came to my attention and that was that.

I chose a favourite card from each deck for eye candy today.

I mentioned this card in my review, but the Alchemy/Bison card from The Messenger Cards by Sandra Kunz is my absolute favourite from that deck.

Fave1

Next up was the Nicoletta Ceccoli Tarot. Some people find this creepy but it’s different for me and so I like it.

Fave5

This is the Knave of Wands looking very much like a 16th-17th century Dutch painting, or even Della Robbia-like to me. Years ago I wanted to buy a very expensive 7-inch Della Robbia Christmas tree for Skye Cottage, one of my dollhouses but it’s just too expensive. These days it sells for $100 or more so it’s way out of my league.

Then Beverly King’s wonderful Lojong for the Layperson cards came to me. Card 51 really struck my eye because of the sundial. In my childhood we used to visit an elderly woman with a sundial and a Pekingese dog. I don’t know who she was but I remember that magical sundial and dog. Around the edge of the sundial is some Spanish moss, and unripe hickory nuts are resting on the dial. It’s such a good composition and has lovely colour.

Fave2

I finally received the two decks by Sue Lion this week. In the Magic & Myth deck this popped out at me. I love pots of flowers and this card is about blooms in the Spring. I thought it was a geranium and it seems to be the Cranesbill variation judging by the serrated leaves and five petals. It looks like Geranium x oxonianum ‘Claridge Druce’ but I’m not sure. Close enough!

Fave3

The last deck is also by Sue Lion, this bit of magnificent art is from her EartHeart Wisdom deck. She has numerous trees and variations in this deck which was why I bought it since I love trees. This one is titled Flying West on the back of the card and since we are planning to move and fly west next year this really appealed to me.

Fave4

Scans really don’t capture the depth of colour in these cards but I’m glad I splashed out and bought them all.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Miscellaneous Cards, Oracles - General, Tarot - General

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

4 Comments on “Five Faves From Five Freshies”

  1. tarottiferet Says:

    I do love to see deck samples like this. And all of the decks have something different about them. I like them all but really love the colours and composition in the card with the sundial (51). How beautiful are those greens?!

  2. Beverly King Says:

    I don’t know what it is about the artwork of Kunz’s Messenger Cards, but it grabs and holds my attention every time I see them. There’s something simple but powerful there.

    • JJ Says:

      Yes, I think that’s a good description of both the cards and the booklet; it’s simple but powerful in some way.

      I have had some fun just exploring animals Bev and seeing things I would not normally pay attention to.


Leave a Reply

