The Fundamental Ambiguity of Being Human

Hoot man, I have been so busy receiving used books that I bought (outlined on my other blog) that I forgot to use my cards for a few days. We can’t be having that.

One of the best books I bought recently was Living Beautifully with Uncertainty and Change by Pema Chodron; ISBN 9781611800760; 2012

3

I have several of her books but this one was a recent revelation. Some pertinent thoughts from the book:

– Impermanence: we try to put solid ground under our feet in an ever-shifting world.
– Your fixed identity and stories are denial – you can’t hear or see anything that doesn’t fit into your fixed identity.
– When things start to fall apart in your life, you feel as if your whole world is crumbling, but actually it’s your fixed identity that is crumbling. It is a fixed-identity crisis only.
-The real cause of suffering is not to be able to tolerate uncertainty.
– The urge to find relief from these feelings by clinging to something that gives us pleasure. Our discomfort and feelings that things are not “right” occurs because we want some feeling or situation to last longer or go away.
– Fundamental ambiguity of being human is always there.

At this time, when I was feeling anxious about changes with retirement, health, our bathroom renovation, and hopefully moving next year, this book was just right. It meant so much to me and clearly addresses some of the thoughts I’ve been having as well as emotional eating.

To go with this I pull…the lovely 6 of Swords. How apt as I go forward on my journey through fundamental ambiguity.

6 OF SWORDS

6Swords_Ceccoli

Watch out for floating giraffes and buttons on your journey. Whew, I’m glad I was warned about this tricky aspect of moving forward in life.

Fully prepared I can forge on, secure in my citizenship.

Happy Sunday!

 

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Tarot - General

Tags: , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

4 Comments on “The Fundamental Ambiguity of Being Human”

  1. tarottiferet Says:

    That is a great card, isn’t it! Beautiful colours.

    Interesting points from the book there. Was reading them slowly and applying them to my own life. I can see places where they fit and make sense.

    Yes, you’ve been prepared for your journey with some good info there!

    • JJ Says:

      Hopefully I can smoothly move forward. We have been looking at real estate listings and checking the locations on Google Maps. I just discovered one of the towns we are interested in has a quilt shop and guild and near that in the general area are weaving and knitting shops.

      It is quite exciting to anticipate.

  2. furtheron Says:

    That sounds like a book worth perusing


Leave a Reply

