The Temperate Balance of a Good Fox

14 – TEMPERANCE

Temp_DreamingWay

Definitely the card I need today. My husband keeps buying junk food—I felt so sick from it yesterday. Of course, I have a choice in not eating things but it’s hard when it’s here in the house.

Moderation. I like this from the booklet: “That which we desire does not bring comfort.” The middle ground of self-restraint is always better.

I am doing a digital jigsaw of Winslow Homer’s painting Fox Hunt which was covered in a lecture from one of my art courses. I had never seen this before, but I love it, so had to download an example of it to take into my jigsaw program. I always associate Homer with nautical paintings, but this is magic with the menacing crows hunting the fox on a hungry day. I especially like that Winslow Homer made his signature look like the fox trapped in the deep snow.

FoxHuntJigsaw

Yes, I like a good fox picture.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Tarot - General

Tags: ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

4 Comments on “The Temperate Balance of a Good Fox”


  1. My theory is that the sooner I eat the junk food, the sooner it gets out of the house (and the sooner I feel sick, but we’re forgetting about that for the moment) bringing the problem back to the issue of the husband bringing the stuff in. Of course, there’s no temperance in that. What card could be taken to mean “placing blame on others”?

    Hmm. All I can think of off the top of my head would be 10 of Sticks: carry it yourself. What else can you think of?

    • JJ Says:

      Yes, it is all personal responsibility, but then I wonder why people set up a pattern where it seems they are trying to kill you.

      Habits die hard for us all. I think this has been our habit for 38 years of marriage.

      A card for this–I think of the 3 of Swords as a blame card and the 7 of Swords too–the 7 of Swords would be good for this–blaming the sneak when you could make a better choice yourself?


  2. Oh, stealing from one’s self. Ach, we are our own worst thieves. Today I stole some honesty from myself and some trust from my partner. It was a stupid, stupid little deception. I blame myself, & I hurt myself most. Shove those blades into my heart. Habits are deep ruts in the soil. The longer we drive the ruts, the harder it is to get out. [Sound of my head hitting the wall, bonk, bonk.]


Leave a Reply

