A Knightly Cento

THE KNIGHT OF WANDS

KnightWands_Phantasmagoric

Whisper has been inspired by his friend Bobby to write a cento. It took him a bit of time to fix the mechanism, to create his poem, his collage of magical words. He now has that toy tuned up and bouncing the possibilities, arms wide to the enchantment of moving the words of the world around and around.

With knightly energy of purpose, he stirs the ocean of still water.

 

(Many thanks to Bobby for her inspiration.)

STILL LIFE INCENTO

In youth my mind was just a mirror
of children dead a century before
in the days before my own life had begun,
An apple which has not begun to mellow; the ratio
For me, always, there will be this earth: tiny.

As when silt drifts and sifts down through muddy pond-water
of grief. I come into the presence of still water.
But now, sleeper, the neighbours and the parade are over
My blood burns and burns.
No one walks down to the water today.

Judith A. Johnston

 

Cento_PoeticForm

REFERENCES:

In youth my mind was just a mirror (Edgar Lee Masters – “Ernest Hyde”)
of children dead a century before (Eric Ormsby “Old Photographs of Children”)
in the days before my own life had begun, (Galway Kinnell – “The Last River”)
An apple which has not begun to mellow; the ratio (Marianne Moore – “An Ardent Platonist”)
For me, always, there will be this earth: tiny. (Czeslaw Milosz – “Songs of Adrian Zielínski)
As when silt drifts and sifts down through muddy pond-water (Theodore Roethke – “Meditations of an Old Woman”)
of grief. I come into the presence of still water. (Wendell Berry – “The Peace of Wild Things”)
But now, sleeper, the neighbours and the parade are over (P.K. Page – “The Sleeper”)
My blood burns and burns. (Al Purdy – “Still Life in a Tent”)
No one walks down to the water today. (Sue Sinclair – “A View of Bell Island, October 2001”)

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Tarot - General

Tags: , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

4 Comments on “A Knightly Cento”

  1. PLN Says:

    What a fab idea! Patchwork poems.

    I love Whisper’s big head and little ears.

    After a crappy day yesterday and feeling tired today, seeing this card made me smile.

    • JJ Says:

      Isn’t it great? I had such a marvelous time this morning doing this and writing it up–so great when other people inspire you to learn and do.

      I find a lot of the cards I have forgotten, but the art and characters live on, ready to be discovered. I’m so glad I saw you mentioning it and pulled mine out–I’ve been having such fun.

  2. Ragged Poet Says:

    You Go JJ!! I love it to bits, great choices, great stitching, you can hardly see it!!

    • JJ Says:

      It was wonderful. I thought I was going to have all kinds of trouble but the first 2 or 3 borrowed lines set the tone and I meandered from there.

      I cannot tell you how much this meant to me, just to see other people doing something I like to do.


Leave a Reply

