Dr. Sacred Spreads his Magic

The Boar is a personal symbol of my family, and another animal that looks like it stepped out of a card.

V – HIEROPHANT

Boar_BadgersForest

Mr. Sacred snuffles about looking for truffles and the secrets of the Universe.

I was not aware that many cultures or religions other than Celtic use the boar as symbolism: Chinese, Egyptian, Graeco-Roman, Hebrew, Hindu, Iranian, Japanese, Mycenaean, Scandinavian and Teutonic, Siberian, and Sumero-Semitic. The Boar is seen at times in warrior status or sacredness, the Boar of the Woods, the solitary, the brutal, the prophet, the magician, the glutton, the swallower of the Eye of God of the Day, an incarnation of Vishnu, the sun and sacrificial beast, the messenger of the Gods.

A wise old beastie, the Boar, showing up for humans regularly in history and sociology. In fact, I think Boar might hold a PhD in sociology and comparative religion.

Yes, that’s Doctor Boar to we humans.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Tarot - General

Tags: ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

4 Comments on “Dr. Sacred Spreads his Magic”

  1. PLN Says:

    I love, love, love these pictures. These figures were made for this deck. I love deck-accompliments. I doubt there is anything like this that I could attach to the Morgan Greer (which I am loving right now). Wondering if I should do another creative review (like Radiant Rider Waite/Original Rider Waite) for the MG, with 1970s bits of this and that. Or make things to go with it. Hmm. Now you have got me thinking 🙂

    • JJ Says:

      Retro things? How about some retro purses–think fringe!

      I bought the MG when you got me interested in it years ago but it never did it for me (probably because there wasn’t a figurine tie-in.) However, I have been enjoying it on your blog. I am pleased to see that more decks these days are printed full-bleed like the MG.

      • PLN Says:

        Yup, could be a possibility there. I will get my thinking cap on. I enjoyed the last creative review, inspired by your good self.

        The MG has always had a lot of praise, but I have seen a few reviewers not take to it in recent times. I think my interest started a long time before I got it as it was the deck I’d seen and wanted in Antwerp (but had settled on a Smurfette Lamp instead) and then got when I was back in Britain. I like it’s meaty feel and it reads really clearly for me. I find the close-up scenes speak straight to me, where as too much going on in cards muddles me (especially if I am reading a big spread for someone else – as a reflective tool with a couple of cards, I enjoy busier illustrations).

        It would be nice to find a way of complimenting it, even though I don’t have any figurine tie-ins. Maybe that is the challenge to overcome?

        • JJ Says:

          You could always do what I did with the LOTR deck you gave me–I downloaded a free paper doll of Boromir that fit nicely with the theme.

          What about something like that–a man with a moustache for the MG? I actually have some Tom Tierney paper dolls for Paul Poiret fashion–they do have a collection for a 1970s fashion family. Dover publishes these and it’s still in-print:

          American Family of the 1970s Paper Dolls
          ISBN 0486418723

          OR you could draw your own based on old photos that look like people in the MG.


Leave a Reply

