Moving On Under the Moon

Usually when I get a new deck a few cards jump out at me and remind me of cards I know from other decks. In the Badgers Forest Tarot, this only happened to me with one card, perhaps a testimony to the deck’s originality?

At first I thought it was the Fey Tarot it reminded me of, but after two more days the older memory drifted up to me. An old memory from my initial years in tarot when I struggled to cement the meaning of the 8 of Cups in my mind.

VIII OF FOXES (8 of Cups)
EIGHT OF CUPS

8Cups_Badge

Ever since I have called this the “Moving On” card. As things go, any card can have more nuances, especially if you parse something intuitively, but for me, the moment of perception with this card came on a long-ago list with the Eight of Cups when the imagery in the World Spirit Tarot finally clicked it all into place for me.

When I was pulling out the cards I liked from the Badgers Forest, the memory fell into place. See it pilgrims of the moon?

It’s funny, when I was new to tarot I joined a list and spilled out my enthusiasm and wonder. Because of my baby steps and naiveté, the people on the list became quite patronizing. Except I am old in mind in a different way, so being patronized was silly to me. There was a lot of winking and teasing and efforts to make me believe in the things they believed in. I used to get irritable with them. My intellect does not like to be patronized, especially by fatuous people who may be covered in wisdom but lack intellectual depth and curiosity. Never patronize a Queen of Swords, it doesn’t fly.

This is a perfect card for that list. Being there for a time, much of it spent in laughter and learning, it became time to get along, to listen to the moon and walk on.

I made the mistake of going back, but I should have pressed on regardless of my fondness for some of the people there. It didn’t work the second time either. The lone fox, the lone pilgrim, is simply the way they are inside, under the moon, the light they know.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Tarot - General

Tags: , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

6 Comments on “Moving On Under the Moon”

  1. PLN Says:

    I like your connection to the card and I can really ‘feel it’ from your description of the list. It reminds me of the JtS forum. Something was always missing, which we had to go and find ourselves on that journey. And we did. We found ‘our-own-path’ and escaped the rules of those dictators who professed to always know best and bullied those they were either intimidated by or who did things a little different.

    • JJ Says:

      I always did things a little differently with cards. My mistake was in thinking everybody would want to join in.

      I look back on the early days of the Internet when humans still thought we could discuss things and cringe. “Discussion” was a guise for argument, who wants to do that? I eventually realized I wasn’t being myself online, and stood back.

      I like to hear the opinions of others and like to express myself, but I prefer to observe, I’ve been like that since I was a child. Why I thought I could be different is beyond my ken today.

      • PLN Says:

        I just wrote about those times on my blog too. I look back and remember us looking into the Rohrig and the Phantasmagoric. I remember looking into the Voodoo pretty much all by myself. In fact, a lot of stuff was done by myself (as people lost interest or couldn’t be bothered to put the effort in after they’d bought a deck) so it wasn’t so different to toddling off on my own in the end.

        The only really good thing to come from that experience was my friendship with you 🙂


  2. Just found your blog, it’s so lovely to see how you describe my cards, I just wanted to say thank you for sharing. Glad that they speak to you so clearly. 🙂

    • JJ Says:

      Hi Nakisha, the Blue Dog Rose cards are the same for me too, I’ve used both decks a lot here. Apart from your beautiful watercolours, I think your decks are appealing because they work.

      Oh, but all the animals are wonderful!


Leave a Reply

