Karma Gets the Joke of the Wild Rider

Here’s a strange little juxtaposition for a Sunday morning: the Karma Oracle and Simon Drew’s Preposterous Playing Cards.

I only got 6.5 hours of sleep, thus my weird thoughts of using two odd decks together began when I was reflecting on cards while trying to sleep.

I bought the Karma Oracle many years ago when I became interested in Hindu mythology and literature due to buying The Gita Deck. This oracle is a small deck with only 33 cards and a short booklet. The first series of cards depicts gods, while the second series has animals often associated with particular gods, and the third series is about objects and symbols. In the Hindu pantheon, gods often hold objects, like Shiva and his trident, which are part of the recognition of each god or particular avatar of a god.

ACE OF HEARTS – Prawn to be wild
8 – SARASVATI

AceH_Sarasvati

Oh, my old friend Sarasvati! I did a small study of the various Sarasvati cards that I own which you can see here.

The goddess of wisdom, she is patron of the arts, so some sense of creativity today. The booklet talks about accepting what you have become even if it doesn’t match your standards of beauty or perfectionism. My dissatisfaction is attachment to what I used to be, or in my case what I used to be able to do. Being different does not mean being ugly. Something vital for me to remember.

Take up the brush or pen and forget what is bothering you. If it’s not perfect, tomorrow there will always be something you will do better than today.

And the Ace of Hearts is funny because we don’t expect to see shrimp riding motorcycles. It doesn’t bother him though, he just wants to be wild for one day, to forget for one day, to ride with the wind in his face and the air and trees around him, going somewhere, for one day.

A very kindly person sent me some information on different art supplies she thought I might like. While I couldn’t get them all, I can get a set of 24 Derwent Drawing pencils which are supposed to be soft and have quite a different lay down than regular coloured pencils. While there I will add the value scale and kneaded eraser I’ve needed for some time. I have been thinking about it for a couple of days just to make sure and read reviews. I like to be sure, so this week I will try and get them along with a Strathmore Toned Art Journal with grey paper. The only Strathmore paper I’ve ever had is a pad of their Windpower Bristol board so I am keen to try the coloured paper out. I am also getting a pad of Canson C à Grain paper to try out. I don’t have access to many choices in art paper.

Sarasvati gave me the okay.

Happy Sunday everyone!

 

About JJ

Eccentric erminois dweller.
This entry was posted in Oracles - General, Playing Cards and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Karma Gets the Joke of the Wild Rider

  1. browntarot says:

    Enjoyable post! I have a set of Derwent pencils that I’m using to color my own BOTA tarot deck. The colors are soft (but leads are strong!) and blend/layer easily. You’ll love them!

Leave a Reply

