I’m Lichen It

Eight hours of sleep. Better.

My Newf is going in for a basic grooming today which I am thankful for because I haven’t been able to brush her since October. She is 10 now and old for a Newf and I don’t like to see her grooming go down, but I can’t bear to set off pain in my arms and legs either since I fell down the stairs. I find she has a sad look in her eyes that my first Newf used to get as he got older, so I’m trying to make sure I notice her more and hug her.

LICHEN, ca. 1950s-1960s
Art by Jung-Koch-Quentell

LichenPostcard

I never considered lichen much and had no idea there were so many different kinds until I starting reading Loreena Moore’s notes for her Lichen Oracle (not online any more) from a forthcoming book. What a fascinating world.

The December 2013 issue of National Geographic has an article on tumbleweeds that I was reading last night, and it all reminds me of how little we know about the natural world.

Perhaps a day of examining things in more detail, and really finding out what they’re about?

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Art Postcards

Tags: , , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

2 Comments on “I’m Lichen It”

  1. ironwing Says:

    Here’s the link to the web’s largest lichen photo collection, from the photographer for the beautiful book, LICHENS OF NORTH AMERICA. You can browse these for hours:
    http://www.sharnoffphotos.com/lichens/lichens_home_index.html

    • JJ Says:

      Holy cow, it’s like a whole other world of mystery. I had no idea, and I’m sure the majority of people don’t know either, that so many, many lichens exist. I bet a lot of us pass a plant and don’t realize that it’s a lichen.

      The minutiae you must know to be able to identify these astounds me.


Leave a Reply

