Sad Songs Beat the Island of Lamentation

The spouse was playing a DVD of John Prine last night and the last song was Hello in There which is one of the saddest songs I know and kept going through my head all night. This is from the DVD we own.

I thought to make a list of sad songs this morning. These are songs that make me cry, grip my heart, make me feel ill with melancholy. Here are a few others on my list:

Puff the Magic Dragon by Peter Paul and Mary
Lady Mary Ann by Jean Redpath (a Robert Burns song)
American Tune by Paul Simon
The Lark Ascending by Ralph Vaughan Williams
Somewhere Over The Rainbow/What a Wonderful World by Israel Kamakawiwo’ole

Heart grippers all. Whew.

I was also thinking about an old card deck. Yeah, the old decks are precious kids, remember. From The Celtic Book of the Dead by Caitlin Matthews, one of the few collage decks I can stand.

14 – ISLAND OF SORROW

IslandSorrow

What, has the Universe been listening to my playlist?

This is about “…falling into the lamentation of the past, its unfairness, and the restrictions it places upon present actions.” It is also about how you can be influenced by other people. Hang around sad people (or sad songs) and you become sad.

You know what that means, don’t you? Yup, it’s time for Pat Metheny and Beat 70. Dare you to be sad.

Way to be Pat. Happy Sunday everybody!

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Oracles - General

Tags: , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

