This Card Reminds of That Enchanted Map

I was struck by a few cards in the Enchanted Map Oracle Cards when I received the deck so thought to have a little ramble as I like to do.

I looked and looked for the card that tweaked my visual memory for this one. I still can’t find it, either I don’t own the deck and I saw it online, or I simply can’t place it in my collection right now. If anyone knows of another deck with a similar visual let me know.

In the meantime, while in a fugue state over my morning tea, Henry Armitage came to me and said “It’s an Eldritch rock Jude, wake up to reality” and sure enough, he was right.

Map1

I love this lion and the sentiment of deep freeze or hibernation, staying still for a time. This is one of my favourite cards in this deck  and the slight tint to the lion reminded of the card in the Tarot of Paris.

Map2

I immediately thought of the gorgeous Aeon card from the Haindl Tarot with this. Isn’t the name “Storm Fields” evocative?

Map3

Another old favourite, the Bone Collector immediately reminded me of The Hermit in the World Spirit Tarot, one of the few female Hermits I have seen. Her cheery face in the oracle deck is immediately uplifting.

Map4

Down to the swirling leaves and faint butterflies, these two belong together.

Map5

There is something very charming about this card. The surrealism and the beckoning window and cat speak of depths and penetrating glances from other worlds. Windows, windows everywhere.

Map6

This was a straight visual memory for me probably because of the circular composition and the bright colours with winged figures.

Map7

And another memory jog from the Fey Tarot, but I couldn’t decide if it was one card or the other that was jogging my memory so you get both.

Map8

And lastly, my absolutely favourite card in the deck. I used to call myself “Solitudinus” and the number 13 is relevant for me so always a happy number. I think because I enjoy a bit of a chat with people, particularly about books, that they often mistake me for a friendlier person than I am. Really, I could live in a place like this and be perfectly content.

Map9

It’s not that I dislike people, but I like the place in the card better, it is better suited to my needs.

The enchantment of maps is that you can draw the place where you are even if people assume that you are somewhere else.

 

About JJ

Eccentric erminois dweller.
This entry was posted in Oracles - General, Tarot - General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This Card Reminds of That Enchanted Map

  1. I was hoping you were going to do one of these 🙂

    I love that Solitude card too. There are some really nice ones, isn’t there!

    That first one (Mountain) reminds me of the Tower in the Tarot of the Old Path as well.

    • JJ says:

      Yes, there are some really great cards in this deck. I tend to agree with what you said about it having a feminine vibe, but that’s okay for me.

      Yes, the Tarot of the Old Path card is reminiscent as is a similar one in the Sacred Geometry oracle, but they haven’t got the gaping cave entrance/mouth aspect that I remember. I was thinking it was one of the Arthurian or Celtic decks but so far I haven’t found it.

Leave a Reply

