Chalice in the Garden

Well, not in my garden, but in a garden across the pond in Somerset.

CHALICE WELL – SOMERSET
Photographed by Bob Croxford

“The waters of the Mendips travel deep underground before emerging in the gardens of the Chalice Well.”

ChaliceWellPostcard

I was not familiar with the Chalice Well until someone commissioned me to make a tarot bag years ago related to Glastonbury. This is the back of the bag I showed previously in a post. The photograph I used was with permission of a photographer, and he agreed to let me use it for this one-of-a-kind creation. Unfortunately, this is the only picture I have of the bag back and it was out of focus, but you get the idea. There is another copper spiral nestled in the floral embroidery here.

Tor_Back_sm

Although I don’t have the deck, the Gaian Tarot by Joanna Powell Colbert has a lovely rendition of this well with the lid open.

ChaliceWell_Gaian

I spent three hours tidying and cleaning to uncover my dining table yesterday. It also involved cleaning off the sideboard, ironing board (again) and my drafting table downstairs. I need another drawer unit to store things so I’m going to try and pick one up today at a store as we are going to a bigger town to shop and go to the library. I hope finally to get this place organized. It is very disheartening when you can’t keep your home tidy, so before winter sets in I want to rectify this mess. What you can’t see on the right is a one foot stack of books and junk on the sideboard. That’s all tidy now at least.

DiningTable_JJsm

My back is sore today, I feel sick if I try to bend down. If often gets sore but this seems to be a deeper torture lately. I’ll just have to putter away as best I can.

 

 

About JJ

Eccentric erminois dweller.
This entry was posted in Art Postcards and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chalice in the Garden

  1. submerina says:

    Yes! Seamstress-crafter-paper-loving-tarotistas unite in tidying ALL THE THINGS! Even if it means having to learn the new places for everything *doi* May your back be cooperative in your endeavours; chronic pain is the booby prize of life >|:|

    • JJ says:

      I uncovered the table at last! Now I can sew again after seven months of having the poor sewing machine buried.

      I also uncovered about five unfinished projects. 😉

Leave a Reply

