Enthusiasm is a God Within

Daily Draw June 21st, 2013

THE LIGHT OF THE WORLD
Be enthusiastic; go forth, for you have the power to create anything

LightofWorld

To go with this I cite one of my favourite quotations, garnered from a long-ago read of a biography of Louis Pasteur back in the 1980s when a correspondence biology teacher of mine gave me the book. I mailed it back to him because I wasn’t sure if he meant me to keep it. I think he did but in my naiveté I didn’t get it. I’m sorry now that I don’t have the book as it meant a lot to me and that quote has sifted into my general philosophy of life. The I Ching 16 is my personal card: Enthusiasm.

The Greeks have given us one of the most beautiful words of our language, the word “enthusiasm” — a God within. The grandeur of the acts of men are measured by the inspiration from which they spring. Happy is he who bears a God within.

In our society being cool is king, and people who are enthusiastic are thought of with distaste, as if they were less intelligent. God forbid you shouldn’t be cool. People who are cool manifest just one aspect of life, they constrain themselves from being fully alive with entire creativity.

I think it better to have the power to create anything.

 

About JJ

Eccentric erminois dweller.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Cards and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Enthusiasm is a God Within

Leave a Reply

