Love the Body, Sayeth Ezekiel

Daily Draw – December 5th, 2012

Hah, the fifth of the month and I get the fifth card, which in the Minchiate is similar to The Lovers in regular tarot.

LOVE – 5 – L’AMORE

Minchiate5_Love

This is about important decisions to be made and choices. On the card it looks like Venus and her son Eros, which is where the love comes in. She is giving the male figure the crown which seems like a chivalrous concept of affection and appreciation rather than a sensual act of love.

And the bible passage I randomly picked to go with this is:

Ezekiel 29: 6-7

6 Then all who live in Egypt will know that I am the Lord.

“‘You have been a staff of reed for the people of Israel. 7 When they grasped you with their hands, you splintered and you tore open their shoulders; when they leaned on you, you broke and their backs were wrenched.

I was a bit iffy on my Israel/Babylonian history so a brief pause to set the scene.

At one point ancient Israel was divided into two kingdoms. The Kingdom of Israel in the north and the Kingdom of Judah in the south. The north Kingdom fell to the Assyrians around 722 B.C.E. and Judah fell to Babylon around 586 B.C.E. Jerusalem was burned and left in ruins and the Israeli nation went into exile and capture in Babylon.

At the time of Ezekiel, good old Nebuchadnezzar II (from the Book of Daniel) was ruling Babylon. Egypt had promised military aid to Israel in their rebellion against Babylon. When the time came Egypt did not uphold this promise, and Israel regretted trusting the Pharaoh, and remained in captivity in Babylon until the Persians conquered Babylon around 538 B.C.E. God punished Egypt for this betrayal with their own exile.

The odd thing was that this morning when I was meditating I was really tuning into the way my body felt, perhaps aware for the first time of sensations. I kept thinking about my back and all the weight on it and no wonder it felt like it was breaking.

In relation to the bible passage—maybe it’s silly—but I feel like I am the Pharaoh who wrenched the back of my body and my body touched me for a moment in my mind and said “Wow, you noticed.” I felt some affection for the poor thing, lumbering (or lumbar-ing to play with the word) under such burdens without the support it had been promised.

The bit about tearing open their shoulders would refer to my tendinitis and neck pain that has bothered me since the 80s. My body trusted and leaned on me and I let it down. Thus I went into the exile of chronic pain.

But exile doesn’t last forever, even for Pharaoh. My decision and awareness will this time carry me out of captivity.

I was struck today by how handsome the backs of these cards are and how well they go together.

MinchiateBacks

Explore posts in the same categories: Two Testaments of Terra Lucida

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

