Stand in the Place Where You Live

Daily Draw November 16th, 2012

With Christmas coming up I have been looking at decks and not feeling any enthusiasm. It’s very hard for a new deck to overcome the brilliance of the Tarot of the Absurd and the Blue Dog Rose Tarot in my mind, both decks by fabulous artists who put intelligence and talent in their work. I do have the 100 postcard set of Vogue covers on my wish list. I am also liking the Dreaming Way Tarot. U.S. Games have pulled back a bit from publishing cards, but what they do publish is good and has depth, like the marvelous Sun and Moon Tarot.

The only deck I could find that I would like is the Sacred Geometry Patterns by Mikhaela Asheena and I could not afford the $50 plus $15 shipping so that’s out. They are a nice mix of hand drawn geometry and collage and New Age thoughts. A bit strange but I like it when people put some thought into cards. Plus, she has Tesla’s face on one of them. Let’s get some science into our sacredness!

SEVEN OF WANDS

Defense, the chequered tabard like a Kevlar vest for protection. Those look like poppies in the background.

I was thinking about defensiveness this week, and one thing I have come to realize is that people express opinions, they have opinions on what you wear and what you do in life, what you buy, how your house looks, whether you are acting correctly or organizing your life correctly. They get upset, they criticize, they block you out for an unknown and baseless terrible error you have made.

I often like the little leaves and sprouts on the wood in the Wands cards. It reminds me that no matter what, there is growth behind it all, things are changing all the time and we can’t stop it. Poppies are a symbol of such fertility too. We can sometimes feel in charge of things, confident, ready to stand our ground, but inside we might be so fearful that we feel terrible.

The poppies tell us to calm down, opiates in the brain are available to help us sleep and rest. Poppies are hardy flowers, and they have strong stems despite their delicate, papery petals. Resist what other people do and say and just stand yourself even if alone.

Let’s quote a lyric by R.E.M. Oh come on I know you want to.

Stand in the place where you live
Now face North
Think about direction
Wonder why you haven’t before
Now stand in the place where you work
Now face West
Think about the place where you live
Wonder why you haven’t before

 

 

About JJ

Eccentric erminois dweller.
This entry was posted in Tarot - General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stand in the Place Where You Live

  1. One of my favorite things about reading other people’s blogs is coveting decks. It is like window shopping. I spent all day a couple days ago wandering around Quebec City. Beautiful! I like to look at everything: the architecture, the blend of old and new, the windows, the galleries, the stuff for sale. I went into one gallery where the average painting price was at least $2000. I felt slightly grubby looking at such expensive paintings and made sure to keep my hands close by my sides. After a whole day of looking at so much stuff to buy, I was done wanting anything. Which was good because I was broke and it cost $20 just to park. Sometimes defensiveness is trying not to spend money I don’t have… (I want that Sacred Geometry deck).

    • JJ says:

      One of the reasons I started collecting card decks was to have a private art gallery because I couldn’t afford artwork!

      If you can’t afford this Sacred Geometry deck (as I can’t either) Francene Hart has two. I have the original one and also bought a print off her of one of them (which I still can’t afford to have framed 10 years later.)

      She came out with a second edition with slightly different artwork. $23 on Amazon right now Jess–could you sneak this into your cart? 😉

      Sacred Geometry Cards for the Visionary Path
      by Francene Hart
      64 full-colour cards + 160-page guide
      Publisher: Bear & Company (September 23, 2008)
      ISBN-10: 1591430925
      ISBN-13: 978-1591430926

      Her older deck which might show up on the secondary market and has a large book:

      Sacred Geometry Oracle Deck
      64 cards + 152-page guide
      Publisher: Bear & Company (October 1, 2001)
      ISBN-10: 1879181738
      ISBN-13: 978-1879181731

      I don’t have her second deck but I gather that some of her cards with simple line drawings of Socratic solids have been revamped to make the artwork jazzier, plus some of the other cards have been changed or augmented.

      Either one is affordable if you are looking for a nice Sacred Geometry deck. Have a look around at her artwork–I like it. This page compares the two versions of the deck and you can see how she changed the artwork in the newer one.

      http://www.francenehart.com/index.htm

      This is the print of hers I bought years ago:

      http://www.francenehart.com/himalaya.htm

Leave a Reply

