Ratsnakes Get Into the Yarn

Daily Draw October 4th, 2012

BAIRD’S RATSNAKE

I found a really interesting knitting pattern for a snake that’s very easy to do and looks quite lifelike.

I’m thinking it must be a ratsnake. So this particular knitted snake could be called Spencer Fullerton Baird, or Spence for short. I could call out to him in my best Katherine Hepburn voice: “Spencah, it’s time for dinnah” gaily snapping a handwoven tea towel as I prepare to take…..oh where was I?

If I make him. Which I might if I can find some yarn in a suitable colourway.

I am a bit overwhelmed right now but fall and winter always make me want to knit and weave. The Mexican Baird’s Ratsnake stays grey but the Texan Baird’s head turns orange like the rest of its body as it gets older. This reminds me of the changing colours of Fall and different seasons, and last year at this time I hurt my knees walking and have never been the same.

Yeah, Spence might make an appearance at my house just to give me a different focus.

 

About JJ

Eccentric erminois dweller.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous Cards and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ratsnakes Get Into the Yarn

  1. ironwing says:

    The knitted snake is cute. Here’s our local Green Rat Snake (the bottom photo shows the most accurate color for the ones I’ve seen in the Catalina, Empire, and Whetstone Mts.). It’s mainly a tree snake and can be found crawling around in the low branches. The first one I ever saw was in a palo verde tree, which has a trunk and branches that are the same color green as the snake.
    http://southwesternherp.com/snakes/intermedia.html

    • JJ says:

      I like the green ones too. They are very handsome snakes.

      I bought this children’s deck of cards and the first thing that leaped out at me was the ratsnakes and I’ve been reading things about them ever since.

      I just get garter snakes and the occasional water snake, or it might be a Hognose snake or Queen snake–hard to tell at a one minute look, and the Eastern Milksnake shows up now and then–very handsome patterning.

      We opened the compost bin one day and there was a blackish snake nestled together with a garter snake–enjoying the heat from the compost. I am not sure which of the dark snakes it was. What snake buddies do on a slow day: “Hey lets get into Judy’s compost and scare the H. out of her when she lifts the lid!”

      I know why they do it.

      There is apparently a Grey or Eastern Ratsnake here in Ontario–the biggest one we get, but they are rare–only two pockets of wild populations left.

Leave a Reply

