The Wooden Ships Alchemist

Daily Draw September 30th, 2012

I finally got a copy of Crosby Stills and Nash’s Wooden Ships which is a song I’ve loved for decades, although I didn’t discover it until 10 years after it was a hit. I wrote a poem about it once called Wooden Ships Salient. The nice thing about having this song is that I can put it on endless repeat.

We are signing our wills in two days so that will finally be done. I have been feeling so ill lately I wanted to get something in place. You never know, as you let the guitar and organ chords wash over you, if this will be the last time you hear them.

1 – ALCHEMIST

Music is alchemy.

 

WOODEN SHIPS

composed by David Crosby, Stephen Stills and Paul Kantner

If you smile at me, I will understand
‘Cause that is something everybody everywhere does
In the same language

I can see by your coat, my friend
You’re from the other side
There’s just one thing I got to know
Can you tell me please, who won?

Say, can I have some of your purple berries?
Yes, I’ve been eating them for six or seven weeks now
Haven’t got sick once
Probably keep us both alive

Wooden ships on the water, very free and easy
Easy, you know the way it’s supposed to be
Silver people on the shoreline, let us be
Talkin’ ’bout very free and easy

Horror grips us as we watch you die
All we can do is echo your anguished cries
Stare as all human feelings die
We are leaving, you don’t need us

Go, take your sister then, by the hand
Lead her away from this foreign land
Far away, where we might laugh again
We are leaving, you don’t need us

And it’s a fair wind blowin’ warm
Out of the south over my shoulder
Guess I’ll set a course and go

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Tarot - General

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

4 Comments on “The Wooden Ships Alchemist”


  1. My younger sister says magicians with glasses have been forever spoiled by Harry Potter. I said, “Maybe they are safety glasses?” She said, “No. They are obviously eyeglasses.” I said, “This magician came years before Harry Potter.” She said, “It doesn’t matter.”

    I hope you feel better.

    • JJ Says:

      Harry Potter never occurred to me. I was thinking more of safety glasses and volatile chemicals and magical chains of chemical reactions. The dangerous trickster side of the Magus would need safety glasses ;-0000

      Weird what people see–very subjective.


Leave a Reply

