Step On His Head

Daily Draw September 19th, 2012

I received the wonderful Tarot of the Absurd by Jessica Shanahan in the mail yesterday, which I had arranged a trade for with another tarot friend since I don’t have the cash right now. I have to go to the dentist this morning and am finding it hard to settle, but I wanted to draw a card from this deck.

17 – THE STAR

How can anyone resist this deck?

The bull must refer to the constellation, so who are the others? Maybe the Big Dog and the Herdsman? Or perhaps it’s Orion? The Archer is supposed to have a long skirt, so that might be him, but his ears seem to be stoppered up. I like the turnabout here as the usual woman looks at the star figures with her binoculars.

The thing about constellations is that someone’s imagination makes them what they are. It is difficult to see Orion with his big and little dog, scorpion, and hare up in those little dots, yet someone in time got the bright idea to connect them into shapes and apply the mythology to them.

In the same way, we can create patterns in our own lives. So let your hair down and create! I get the feeling that chap’s mouth opens when you step on his head…let me verify this empirical evidence….yes this is so, he has to let the pressure out when you step on his head because his ears are stoppered up.

Sing and shout to the stars when you feel pressured, bay at the moon. Skip about in the sky peering at new things and let the light of Sirius be absorbed by your mind. Remember that before a human applied thought to the stars they were random specks of light in the night.

We can’t be having that sort of random nonsense. Build the story, you are the creator. And today is the day to do it!

After the dentist of course, in 1.5 hours of star time.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Tarot - General

Tags: ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

7 Comments on “Step On His Head”


  1. I love it!

    There is an energy that I remember here.

    Watching you talk about this card reminds me of when we used to discuss the Phantasmagoric and Kaos. It’s so playful.

    I hope to see more draws with this one! It looks like a great trade and I like your thoughts about joining dots in our own lives. It’s how we see things, right?


  2. What a cool deck! Going to the dentist makes me feel pressured. 😛 And the one with the stopped up ears looks like he could be “opening wide” for the dentist to do his/her work. lol


  3. Finally! I read all your entries. It makes me laugh so to see my deck through your eyes! I could go ahead and tell you what I MEANT, but what’s the point in that? It’s not so much what I mean as what you see. If you ever DO want to know what’s really going on in the star card, tho, let me know…

    (insert heart-shaped doodle here)

    • JJ Says:

      Hey Jess!

      Oh I always want to know what goes through a creator’s head! BUT, judging by the amount of information on some of the entries pertaining to the Tarot of the Absurd on your blog, I would encourage you to write a book. You are not only a good artist, but an excellent writer as well, and you most definitely have something to say.

      Meanwhile, WHAT did you mean??? Clue me in. The only thing I can think of is “See no evil, speak no evil, hear no evil” which did occur to me when I pulled the card but I wanted to go with the constellations. 😉

  4. JJ Says:

    And for anyone who is curious, Jess informs me that it’s Pandora. I just love the way this deck brings deeper meaning to things.


Leave a Reply

